14-man Dr Crokes crush Dingle after game of cards

Dr Crokes 1-18 Dingle 1-8: Dr Crokes claimed a fifth senior club championship crown in seven seasons when crushing Dingle at a windswept Austin Stack Park, yesterday.

14-man Dr Crokes crush Dingle after game of cards

Referee Sean Joy was one of the busiest men on the field issuing a variety of cards to both sets of players

Dingle received three blacks in the opening 40 minutes — Dara O’Sullivan (13), Mikey Geaney (20) and Michael Flannery (36) while Brendan Kelliher received a second yellow just before the final whistle.

Joy also issued a straight red to Crokes’ Fionn Fitzgerald as the Killarney outfit also picked up a number of yellows.

Dingle made the better start with frees from Paul Geaney and Conor Geaney. But with Daithí Casey dictating matters from midfield, and Colm Cooper pulling the strings at wing forward, Crokes began to take control.

However the Killarney side were rocked by the 20th minute dismissal of Fitzgerald following an off-the-ball incident after a tremendous Mikey Geaney goal. (Indeed Geaney was to depart moments later on a black card).

Despite being a man down Crokes finished the half strongly adding points from Casey, Kieran O’Leary, Brosnan again and Brian Looney for a 0-13 to 1-4 interval lead.

The expected Dingle fightback never materialised as Crokes maintained possession with slick hand passing and calm interplay.

Dingle did not register a score until the 5th minute by which time their opponents were 0-16 to 1-4 in front. Eight minutes of injury time saw Dingle add points from Conor Geaney, Mathew Flaherty, Paul Geaney (free) and Paul Devane. But Crokes had the final say with efforts from David Shaw and Paul Clarke along with a superb Gavin White goal.

Scorers for Dr Crokes:

T Brosnan (0-4), C Cooper (0-3, 2 frees), G White (1-0), K O’Leary and M Burns (0-2 each ), S Murphy (’45), F Fitzgerald, D Casey, J Buckley, B Looney, P Clarke and D Shaw ( 0-1 each).

Scorers for Dingle:

P Geaney (0-3 frees), C Geaney (0-3, 2 frees), M Geaney (1-0), M Flattery and P Devane (0-1 each).


S Murphy: J Payne, M Moloney, F Fitzgerald, D O’Leary, A O’Sullivan, J Lyne, J Buckley, D Casey, M Burns, G O’Shea, B Looney, T Brosnan, C Cooper, K O’Leary.


G White for J Lyne (40), M Potts for K O’Leary (inj 47), P Clarke for T Brosnan (57), D Shaw for M Burns (60), S Doolan for G O’Shea (64), E Brosnan for B Looney (66)


G H Curran; A O’Connor, T L O’Sullivan, M Flannery, M Boyle, T O’Sullivan, B Kelliher, D O’Sullivan, B O’Sullivan, B O’Connor, M Flaherty, M Geaney, C Geaney, P Geaney, C Bambury.


P O’Connor for B O’Sullivan (13 b/c), P Devane for M Geaney (b/c 20), E Murphy for M Flannery (B/C 36).


S Joy (Laune Rangers).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.225 s