Diarmuid Doody lone survivor from 2017 as Rebels face Déise battle

Goalkeeper Diarmuid Doody is the only survivor from last year’s Munster U17 football competition as Cork begin their campaign in the new minor grade tonight against Waterford in Páirc Uí Rinn (throw-in 7pm).

Diarmuid Doody lone survivor from 2017 as Rebels face Déise battle

From this year, minor has changed from U18 to U17, and last year provincial and All-Ireland championships were held to cater for those players who would missing out on the minor grade.

With county development squads also playing at U16, the U17 panels were largely confined to players on the age, meaning that Doody, sub goalkeeper last year, was the only Cork panellist who was also playing at U16 level.

The Rebels reached the Munster U17 final, losing to Kerry.

Centre-forward Dylan O’Sullivan is the only representative from last year’s Rebel Óg U16 Premier 1 FC winners St Finbarr’s, and he is joined in coach Bobbie O’Dwyer’s side by two key attackers in wing-forward Hugh Murphy and Evan Cooke from Éire Óg and Ballincollig respectively.

Centre-back Diarmaid Phelan from Aghada captains the side while also included in the defence is Nemo Rangers’ Eoin Nation, son of two-time All-Ireland-winner Tony.

Last year, Cork entered two teams in the Munster U16 football competition, with one of them claiming the plate title.

Cork (Munster MFC v Waterford):

D Doody (Buttevant); D Connolly (Glanworth), D Buckley (Newcestown), C O’Donovan (Glanmire); F Cronin (Cullen), D Phelan (Aghada), E Nation (Nemo Rangers); N Hartnett (Douglas), R Lombard (Ballyhooly); H Murphy (Éire Óg), D O’Sullivan (St Finbarr’s), E Cooke (Ballincollig); S McDonnell (Mallow), A Ó Luasa (Naomh Abán), C Corbett (Clyda Rovers).


M White (Douglas), D Harte (Douglas), D O’Shea (Valley Rovers), N Lordan (Ballinora), J O’Shea (Urhan), A Whelton (Castlehaven), J Harte (Douglas), G Carey (Buttevant), M O’Neill (Buttevant).

Waterford (Munster MFC v Cork):

N McSweeney (Gaultier); C Foley (Ballinacourty), S Boyce (The Nire), S Lennon (Brickey Rangers); L Power (Kilgobnet), T Walsh (Rathgormack), L Fennell (Stradbally); C Browne (Brickey Rangers), J Power (Rathgormack); A Ryan (The Nire), L Walsh (The Nire), S Ronayne (Brickey Rangers); N O’Keeffe (De La Salle), M Ó Floinn (Old Parish), R Elliffe (Rathgormack).


P Dunwoody (Kilrossanty), H Griffin (Ballinameela), A Behan (Kilrossanty), T Mooney (Kill), P Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty), S Walsh (The Nire), K Taylor (St Saviours), J Lombard (Brickey Rangers), S Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty), A Power (Ardmore).

Limerick (Munster MFC v Clare):

K Walsh (Ballysteen); S Bradshaw (Pallasgreen), C Carey (Claughan), M O’Hanrahan (Monaleen); L Scannell (Fr Caseys), T Lyons (Croom), D O’Keeffe (Kilpeacon); J Molyneaux (Dromcollogher Broadford), J Hayes (St Kieran’s); K O’Kelly (Granagh/Ballingarry), L Gleeson (Newcastlewest), B Foley (Newcastlewest); P O’Shaughnessy (Ballysteen), E Murphy (Fr Caseys), P Gallagher (Rathkeale).


R McElligott (Mungret), R O’Connor (Newcastlewest), R O’Connell (Fr Caseys), L Gammell (Ballysteen), M Shanahan (St Kieran’s), A McMahon (St Patrick’s), D Kearns (St Senan’s), D Maloney (St Kieran’s), K Guinea (St Kieran’s).

More in this section

CourtsGaaPerson: Diarmuid DoodyPerson: RinnPerson: DoodyPerson: Dylan O’SullivanPerson: Bobbie O’DwyerPerson: Hugh MurphyPerson: Evan CookePerson: Diarmaid PhelanPerson: TonyPerson: D DoodyPerson: D ConnollyPerson: D BuckleyPerson: C O’DonovanPerson: GlanmirePerson: F CroninPerson: D PhelanPerson: E NationPerson: N HartnettPerson: R LombardPerson: H MurphyPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: E CookePerson: S McDonnellPerson: MallowPerson: A Ó LuasaPerson: C CorbettPerson: M WhitePerson: D HartePerson: D O’SheaPerson: N LordanPerson: J O’SheaPerson: A WheltonPerson: J HartePerson: DouglasPerson: G CareyPerson: M O’NeillPerson: ButtevantPerson: N McSweeneyPerson: GaultierPerson: C FoleyPerson: S BoycePerson: NirePerson: S LennonPerson: L PowerPerson: T WalshPerson: L FennellPerson: C BrownePerson: J PowerPerson: A RyanPerson: L WalshPerson: S RonaynePerson: N O’KeeffePerson: M Ó FloinnPerson: ParishPerson: R ElliffePerson: RathgormackPerson: P DunwoodyPerson: KilrossantyPerson: H GriffinPerson: BallinameelaPerson: A BehanPerson: T MooneyPerson: KillPerson: P FitzgeraldPerson: S WalshPerson: K TaylorPerson: J LombardPerson: S FitzgeraldPerson: A PowerPerson: K WalshPerson: S BradshawPerson: C CareyPerson: ClaughanPerson: M O’HanrahanPerson: MonaleenPerson: L ScannellPerson: Fr CaseysPerson: T LyonsPerson: CroomPerson: D O’KeeffePerson: J MolyneauxPerson: J HayesPerson: K O’KellyPerson: L GleesonPerson: B FoleyPerson: P O’ShaughnessyPerson: E MurphyPerson: P GallagherPerson: R McElligottPerson: R O’ConnorPerson: R O’ConnellPerson: L GammellPerson: M ShanahanPerson: A McMahonPerson: D KearnsPerson: D MaloneyPerson: K GuineaEvent: Munster U17Event: All-IrelandEvent: Munster U16Event: Munster MFCOrganisation: RebelsOrganisation: DéiseOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: Rebel Óg U16 Premier 1 FCOrganisation: St FinbarrOrganisation: Éire ÓgOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: Nemo Rangers’Organisation: GlanworthOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: AghadaOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: BallyhoolyOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: Clyda RoversOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: BallinoraOrganisation: UrhanOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: Brickey RangersOrganisation: KilgobnetOrganisation: RathgormackOrganisation: StradballyOrganisation: TheOrganisation: De La SalleOrganisation: OldOrganisation: St SavioursOrganisation: KilrossantyOrganisation: ArdmoreOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: PallasgreenOrganisation: KilpeaconOrganisation: Dromcollogher BroadfordOrganisation: St Kieran’sOrganisation: GranaghOrganisation: BallingarryOrganisation: NewcastlewestOrganisation: BallysteenOrganisation: RathkealeOrganisation: Fr CaseysOrganisation: St Patrick’sOrganisation: St Senan’s
Price info
Price info

Subscribe to unlock unlimited digital access.
Cancel anytime.

Terms and conditions apply

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Fri, Oct 22

Erins Own v Midleton

Páirc Uí Chaoimh

Sun, Sept 26

Clyda Rovers

SAFC Round 2



Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.