Knocknagree end Kerry dominance in Munster junior final

KERRY dominance in the Munster club junior football championship has come to an end after Knocknagree inched past Dromid Pearses in a brilliant contest at Mallow today.
Knocknagree end Kerry dominance in Munster junior final

Knocknagree (Cork) 1-17

Dromid Pearses (Kerry) 2-11 AET

Level 2-7 to 0-13 at the end of normal time, the Cork side got the better of their opponents in extra-time to be crowned provincial champions.

The John Fintan Daly side collected their first title at this level. Anthony O’Connor’s goal in the first period of extra-time proving to be the decisive score. The full-forward finished top-scorer with 1-7.

First-half goals from Chris Farley and Gearoid Jackie O’Sullivan handed Dromid Pearses the advantage. However, Knocknagree never let them too far out of sight with some excellent points from Anthony O’Connor (3) and Fintan O’Connor. The Cork side trailed 0-7 to 2-3 at the interval.

The second-half was tit-for tat with Knocknagree drawing level within six minutes. Scores were at a premium and with 10 minutes to go Dromid Pearses held a slight advantage, 2-5 to 0-10 following a point from substitute Kealan Farley. The sides were deadlocked twice more courtesy of Fintan O’Connor’s late point for Knocknagree forcing extra-time.

Knocknagree edged it 1-14 t 2-10 after the first period of extra-time, and they outscored Dromid Pearses three points to one thereafter. Both sides finished with 14 men after late dismissals for Graham O’Sullivan and James Dennehy.

Scorers for Knocknagree: A O’Connor (1-7, 0-6 frees), E McSweeney and F O’Connor (0-3 each), M Dilworth (0-2), M Mahoney and J F Daly (0-1 each).

Scorers for Dromid Pearses: N O’Shea (0-5, 0-2 frees), G Jackie O’Sullivan and C Farley (0-1 free) (1-1 each), K Fearley (0-2), A Shine O’Sullivan and S O’Connor (0-1 each).

Knocknagree: P Doyle; G O’Connor, K Buckley, P O’Connor; M Mahoney, A Sheehan, D Moynihan; D Cooper, P Collins; E McSweeney, J F Daly (Jnr), F O’Connor; M Dilworth (Capt), A O’Connor, J Dennehy.

Subs: C White for J Dennehy (47), T Long for A Sheehan (59), K Daly for D Moynihan (65), J Dennehy for M Mahoney (70), T Cooper for P O’Connor (71).

Dromid Pearses: B O’Leary; C O’Shea, G O’Sullivan, S O’Connor; D Shine O’Sullivan, K O’Leary, P Jackie O’Sullivan; T Curran, A Shine O’Sullivan; K Sheehan, D O’Donoghue, D O’Sullivan; G Jackie O’Sullivan, C Farley (Capt), N O’Shea.

Subs: K Farley for T Curran (46), P Sheehan for D Shine O’Sullivan (54), J O’Shea for K Sheehan (61), T Curran for D O’Donoghue (65), M Sheehan for D O’Sullivan (73), N O’Connor for A Shine O’Sullivan (76).

Referee: Alan Kissane (Waterford).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up