Westmeath back on track with easy win over Treaty

Allianz FL Division 4

Westmeath back on track with easy win over Treaty

Racing into a commanding position when skipper Ger Egan converted a penalty on the quarter-hour, they were never in any serious danger despite Limerick mounting brave rallies.

With two defeats out of two, the home side have it all to do if they’re to make an immediate return to Division Three as they struggled once again to contain physically superior opponents.

Westmeath made early use of the wind as Egan, Paul Sharry and David Lynch’s ‘45’ put them ahead before Brian Fanning got Limerick off the mark.

However, the home side were struggling to cope with Westmeath’s running game which led Egan to convert a penalty after James Dolan was pulled down before John Egan stretched the gap to six.

Limerick picked it up as the pressure on their defence eased off and, following Ger Egan’s reply to Darragh Tracey, pulled themselves back into contention as Jamie Lee sent over frees either side of Danny Neville.

However, they weren’t getting the shot in quick enough and, after David Bryan saved off Lee, the Midlanders hit back through Sharry, Ger Egan and Kieran Martin before Lee’s third free left his side trailing 1-8 to 0-6 at half-time.

Egan and John Heslin’s free increased Westmeath’s lead on the restart as did another Heslin free. However, Limerick again found a second wind with Lee’s free and Brian Donovan’s follow-up and, after Heslin responded, the gap was back to four as Seán McSweeney’s free was followed by a pair from Séamus O’Carroll.

That was as close as they got. As Kelvin Reilly stuck the post, Johnny McCarthy picked up a second yellow and efforts from Heslin, Luke Loughlin, Shane Dempsey and Denis Glennon sealed the win for Westmeath.

Scorers for Westmeath:

G Egan1-4 (1-0 p), J Heslin 0-5 (3f), P Sharry (1 ‘45’), K Martin 0-2 each, D Lynch (‘45’), J Egan, L Loughlin, S Dempsey, D Glennon 0-1 each

Scorers for Limerick:

J Lee 0-4 (4f), D Tracey, S O’Carroll 0-2 each, B Fanning, D Neville, B Donovan, S McSweeney (f) 0-1 each.


D Bryan; J Gonoud, K Maguire, M McCallon; J Dolan, F Boyle, D Lynch; P Holloway, G Egan; J Egan, P Sharry, D Corroon; K Martin, J Heslin, K Reilly.


A Gaughan for D Corroon (30m), S Corcoran for K Maguire (ht), L Loughlin for J Egan (46m), D Glennon for A Gaughan (58m), C Boyle for K Reilly (67m), S Dempsey for L Loughlin.


D O’Sullivan; G Noonan, J McCarthy, S O’Dea; P White, I Corbett, C Fahy; D Tracey, B Fanning; S McSweeney, G Collins, D Neville; B Donovan, S O’Carroll, J Lee.


P Nash for S McSweeney (50m), C Sheehan for G Collins (50m), ), J Naughton for J Lee (61m), P Quinn for G Noonan (67m), P Scanlon for D Neville (69m).


J Bermingham (Cork).

GAA Podcast: Kilkenny revenge mission another step forward for Waterford

All our sport podcasts can now be found on Soundcloud and iTunes under the PaperTalk banner.

SUBSCRIBE ON iTUNES for regular GAA, soccer, rugby shows and more.

Or view our show selection on SOUNDCLOUD

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd