Tralee CBS kick extra time free to force second replay with Coláiste Chríost Rí

Coláiste Chríost Rí 1-14 Tralee CBS 2-11: Michael Kelliher’s free in the fourth minute of the second period of extra time earned Tralee CBS a draw in Baile Bhúirne on Saturday, ensuring that a second replay will be required to determine whether ‘the Green’ or Coláiste Chríost Rí advance to the final of the Corn Uí Mhuirí against St Brendan’s College.
Tralee CBS kick extra time free to force second replay with Coláiste Chríost Rí

Having trailed by 2-6 to 1-6 with 20 minutes left in normal time, Críost Rí reeled off five points in a row, with Cillian Myers Murray outstanding, but a fortuitous shot from Tralee’s Tomás O’Connor bounced over the crossbar and then Tom Hoare’s free meant that the sides would go to extra time for the second week in a row.

Points from Dáire Keane and Joe O’Connor suggested that Tralee would pushed ahead in the additional 20 minutes, but Daniel Lucey got one back before half-time and then two Myers Murray frees had them ahead as the 80-minute mark loomed.

An O’Connor shot went close but was waved wide, however there was still time for Tralee to launch one more attack and when Gearoid Fitzgerald was fouled, Kelliher did the needful. Referee Kevin Walsh and his officials left the field to a dissatisfied reception due to the time added on, however.

In the first half of normal time, David Fitzmaurice gave Tralee a second-minute boost as his point attempt deceived Darragh Moran and ended up in the net. It gave them the edge for the majority of proceedings and then Kelliher netted a penalty on 27 minutes to make ti 2-4 to 0-4.

Críost Rí had an instant response through Darragh Kelly – who also netted in the first game too – and Mark Cronin’s free from distance left two in it at half-time. Críost Rí were better against the wind though, and looked to have done enough to win in the second half.

A defensive free when they led by a point was turned over for time-wasting though and with the next play Tralee were able to force extra time with Hoare’s free.

Scorers for Coláiste Chríost Rí: C Myers Murray 0-8 (7 frees), M Cronin 0-4 (2 frees), D Kelly 1-0, J Ryan, D Lucey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tralee CBS: M Kelliher 1-3 (1-0 penalty, 1 free), D Fitzmaurice 1-0, K Dwyer, T Hoare (0-2 each, frees), T O’Connor, J O’Connor, G Fitzgerald, D Keane 0-1 each.

COLÁISTE CHRÍOST RÍ: D Moran (St Finbarr’s); A McGowan (Nemo Rangers), B Cripps (Nemo Rangers), E Varian (Nemo Rangers); Jack O’Brien (St Finbarr’s), M Hitchmough (Shamrocks), D Kelly (Douglas); J Ryan (Sliabh Rua), K Forde (Nemo Rangers); M Brosnan (Carrigaline), D Lucey (Mayfield), J Coughlan (Nemo Rangers); M Cronin (Nemo Rangers), R Dalton (Nemo Rangers), C Myers Murray (St Finbarr’s).

Subs: L Hannigan (Nemo Rangers) for Coughlan (43), Jack O’Brien (Nemo Rangers) for Dalton (70).

TRALEE CBS: S Foley (Kerins O’Rahillys); J Myres (John Mitchels), T Lynch (St Pat’s, Blennerville), B Patterson (Austin Stacks); J Walsh (Knocknagoshel), N O’Mahoney (Na Gaeil), S Donnellan (Churchill); J O’Connor (Austin Stacks), T Hoare (Kerins O’Rahillys); T O’Connor (Ballymacelligott), K Dwyer (St Pat’s, Blennerville), M Scanlon (Castlegregory); D Fitzmaurice (Austin Stacks), G Fitzgerald (Austin Stacks), M Kelliher (John Mitchels).

Subs: A Roche (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Fitzmaurice (48), D Keane (Ballymacelligott) for Scanlon (59).

Referee: K Walsh (Clare).

More in this section

gaafootballcolaiste chriost ritralee cbsplace: baile bhperson: colaiste chríost ríperson: tralee cbsperson: michael kelliherperson: st brendanperson: críost ríperson: cillian myers murrayperson: traleeperson: tomas o’connorperson: tom hoareperson: daire keaneperson: joe o’connorperson: daniel luceyperson: myers murrayperson: o’connorperson: gearóid fitzgeraldperson: kelliherperson: kevin walshperson: david fitzmauriceperson: darragh moranperson: darragh kellyperson: mark croninperson: hoareperson: chriost riperson: c myers murrayperson: m croninperson: d kellyperson: j ryanperson: d luceyperson: m kelliherperson: d fitzmauriceperson: k dwyerperson: t hoareperson: t o’connorperson: j o’connorperson: g fitzgeraldperson: d keaneperson: d moranperson: a mcgowanperson: e varianperson: jack o’brienperson: m hitchmoughperson: k fordeperson: m brosnanperson: j coughlanperson: r daltonperson: l hanniganperson: coughlanperson: daltonperson: s foleyperson: kerins o’rahillysperson: j myresperson: john mitchelsperson: t lynchperson: b pattersonperson: austin stacksperson: j walshperson: knocknagoshelperson: n o’mahoneyperson: na gaeilperson: s donnellanperson: churchillperson: ballymacelligottperson: m scanlonperson: a rocheperson: fitzmauriceperson: k walshperson: clareorganisation: tralee cbsorganisation: coláisteorganisation: cbsorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: shamrocksorganisation: douglasorganisation: carrigalineorganisation: mayfieldorganisation: st pat’sorganisation: blennervilleorganisation: castlegregory

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.