IT Sligo overcome red card to progress in Sigerson

14-man IT Sligo advanced to the Sigerson Cup first round with victory over GMIT at Tuam.

IT Sligo overcome red card to progress in Sigerson

Sigerson Cup

IT Sligo 3-13 GMIT 2-7 

James Shaughnessy scored 1-6 and despite Philip Neilan’s dismissal for two yellow cards after 28 minutes, IT Sligo had too much.

IT Sligo led 2-5 to 1-6 at half-time, Shaughnessy and Bryan Walsh scored their goals, but Joseph Donnellan kept GMIT competitive.

Donnellan scored his second goal after half-time, but backed by the wind, and a Jamie Brennan goal, IT Sligo went through.

Scorers for IT Sligo: J Shaughnessy 1-6 (4f), B Walsh 1-1, J Brennan 1-0, D Cafferkey 0-1 (1f), K McBrearty 0-1, R Smyth 0-1, R Connolly 0-1, R Gorman 0-1, C McGettigan 0-1.

Scorers for GMIT: J Donnellan 2-2 (1f), C Donohue 0-2 (1f), K Mannion 0-1, C Donnellan 0-1, J Reilly 0-1.

IT Sligo: D Cafferkey (Sligo); R Gallagher (Donegal), D McConnon (Sligo), P Neilan (Roscommon); R Gorman (Westmeath), E McGrath (Donegal), C McGettigan (Donegal); R Connolly (Sligo), K McBrearty (Donegal); A McClean (Donegal), R Smyth (Longford), J Brennan (Donegal); B Walsh (Mayo), J Shaughnessy (Mayo), E B Gallagher (Donegal).

Subs: Colm Reape (Mayo) for Walsh (half-time), J O’Reilly (Sligo) for Smyth (37, black card), D McGovern (Leitrim) for McBrearty (50).

GMIT: C Nolan (Galway); K Mannion (Galway), C Reilly (Galway), A Commins (Galway); J Kinahan (Offaly), J Downes (Galway), J Kelly (Mayo); A Moran (Mayo), B Raftery (Corofin); C Donohue (Offaly), E Brannigan (Galway), J Reilly (Mayo); C Donnellan (Galway), M Shaughnessy (Galway), J Donnellan (Galway).

Subs: J Coen (Galway) for Shaughnessy (21), A Molloy (Galway) for Mannion (46), D Brennan (Galway) for Coen (52).

Referee: Garry Owen McMahon (Dublin).

More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Execution Time: 0.264 s