Aidan O’Mahony adamant Eamonn Fitzmaurice is the right man for Kerry job

Kerry footballer Aidan O’Mahony has yet to decide if he will continue with the Kingdom for a 15th campaign.

Aidan O’Mahony adamant Eamonn Fitzmaurice is the right man for Kerry job

O’Mahony is adamant that Eamonn Fitzmaurice is the “right man” to lead Kerry back up the steps of the Hogan Stand and also welcomed the addition of Maurice Fitzgerald to the backroom team, but was non-committal on his own future.

“I’ve great respect for Eamonn Fitzmaurice and he’s the first man I’ll talk to,” the 36-year old told Radio Kerry.

“It is a big decision. You talk about youth coming through and there have been three great minor teams. Youth has to get its time as well. If I go, I will miss it. Whatever I will do, it will be for the greater good of Kerry football. It will not be about Aidan O’Mahony.”

The Kerry defender continued: “Maurice [Fitzgerald] is a fantastic addition. Maurice goes into a room and everyone just looks up and listens to his every word. He has this aura about him. He is pure Kerry football. That is the legacy we grew up in and that is the legacy we want to leave. Losing to Dublin was a very tough one to take. We were with them until the 72nd minute. I know down here in Kerry, at times, supporters will say we are not winning All-Irelands. We are not judged on Munster titles or national leagues, we are judged on winning All-Irelands. Eamonn is the right man to carry us to Sam Maguire again next year.”

Elsewhere, Glen Rovers forward Patrick Horgan was last night crowned Cork club hurler of the year, with Carbery Rangers sharpshooter John Hayes taking the football equivalent.

The respective county champions dominated the two Rearden’s All Star teams, with seven players from Glen Rovers and eight from Carbery Rangers honoured. The first-time county football champions filled four of the six defensive positions, including centre-back where Tipperary’s Robbie Kiely was selected.

Hurling All Stars:

S Bowen (Erin’s Own); J Sheehan (Erin’s Own), B Moylan (Glen Rovers), S Murphy (Erin’s Own); D Noonan (Glen Rovers), A Ryan (Midleton), G Callanan (Glen Rovers); D Cronin (Glen Rovers), B Murray (Bishopstown); D Brosnan (Glen Rovers), P Horgan (Glen Rovers), R O’Flynn (Erin’s Own); A Cadogan (Douglas), E Murphy (Erin’s Own), C Dorris (Glen Rovers).

Football All Stars:

P Shanahan (Carbery Rangers); L Jennings (Ballincollig), B Shanahan (Carbery Rangers), T O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers); T Clancy (Avondhu), R Kiely (Carbery Rangers), J O’Riordan (Carbery Rangers); S Kiely (Ballincollig), J Fitzpatrick (Carbery Rangers); J Miskella (Ballincollig), P Kelly (Ballincollig), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers); L Connolly (Nemo Rangers), J Hayes (Carbery Rangers), C Dorgan (Ballincollig).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up