Pobalscoil Corca Dhuibhne finish in style

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne (Dingle) 0-13 Skibbereen CC 0-6: A dominant closing 20 minutes helped Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne advance to the Corn Uí Mhuirí (Munster Colleges SFC) quarter-final in Rathmore yesterday.
Pobalscoil Corca Dhuibhne finish in style

The Dingle school inflicted a second defeat on newcomers, Skibbereen Community College, who faded after a bright start to the second-half, when they reduced the deficit to 0-6 to 0-5. But six unanswered points from the Kerry school put paid to any hopes the West Cork side may have had of causing an upset as the Dingle forwards showed how.

In particular, the full- forward line of Killian Falvey, Deividas Usosis and Liam Bambury looked a threat throughout while the rampaging runs of wing-back Mark Ashe added to Skibbereen’s problems.

Fittingly, it was Ashe who helped steady Dingle’s position by landing the first of that sextet with a super effort off his left and he also popped up with another before Tom Devane completed the set.

Skibbereen competed well in the opening quarter and were 0-2 to 0-1 in front following Matthew Bushe’s point from play and a 15th minute Sean Minihane free. But, Dingle upped the pace in the remainder of the half, scoring five points on the spin to take a firm grip at the interval.

Full-forward Usosis set-up Falvey for the lead score after 23 minutes before Cathal Ferriter, Falvey, from a free, and Usosis made it a four-point game on the resumption.

Skibbereen moved Minihane to full-forward on the resumption and he profited from Rory Byrne’s influence at midfield as they kicked three points in a row.

A Minihane free was followed by scores from Dylan O’Donovan and substitute Alex Minihane only for Dingle to respond in kind.

Scorers for PS Chorca Dhuibhne:

D Usosis 0-3, 1f, L Bambury and M Ashe 0-2 each, C Falvey 0-2, 1f, C Ferriter, T Devane and N Flannery 0-1 each, M Boland 0-1f

Scorers for Skibbereen CC:

S Minihane 0-2f, D O’Donovan, M Bushe, A Minihane 0-1 each, R Byrne 0-1f


E Ó Brosnachain (Dingle); G Ó Leidhinn (Annascaul), C Ó Muircheartaigh (do), F Ó Cuanaigh (Gaeltacht); F Sauerland (do), B Ó Conchuir (Dingle), M Aghas (do); P Sauerland (Gaeltacht), R MacCarthaigh (Dingle); T Ó Dubhain (do), C Firtear (Annascaul), M Ó Beolain (Dingle); C Failbhe (Annascaul), D Usosis (Dingle), L Ó Bambaire (Gaeltacht).


R Begley (Gaeltacht) for Failbhe 50, N Flannery (do) for Ó Bambaire 53, S Connor (do) for MacCarthaigh, black card 59, J ÓMuircheartaigh (do) for Ó Beolain 60+1


E Hourihane (Ilen Rovers); J Collins (do), C O’Driscoll (Castlehaven), S Walsh (do); S Fitzgerald (O’Donovan Rossa), E O’Driscoll (Ilen Rovers), D O’Donovan (O’Donovan Rossa); S Minihane (Ilen Rovers), R Byrne (O’Donovan Rossa); E Connolly (do), M Bushe (Ilen Rovers), J Cowap (O’Donovan Rossa); P O’Driscoll (Ilen Rovers), R Foley (Castlehaven), E O’Connor (O’Donovan Rossa).


L Brown (Castlehaven) for E O’Driscoll injured 25, A Minihane (do) for Cowap 29, K Hurley (O’Donovan Rossa) for Connolly and K O’Donovan (Castlehaven) for P O’Driscoll 52


T McCarthy (Desmonds).

More in this section

GaaFootballCorkKerryPlace: RathmorePerson: Killian FalveyPerson: Deividas UsosisPerson: Liam BamburyPerson: Mark AshePerson: SkibbereenPerson: AshePerson: Tom DevanePerson: Matthew BushePerson: Seán MinihanePerson: DinglePerson: FalveyPerson: Cathal FerriterPerson: MinihanePerson: Rory ByrnePerson: Dylan O’DonovanPerson: Alex MinihanePerson: L BamburyPerson: M AshePerson: C FalveyPerson: C FerriterPerson: T DevanePerson: N FlanneryPerson: M BolandPerson: S MinihanePerson: D O’DonovanPerson: M BushePerson: A MinihanePerson: R ByrnePerson: E Ó BrosnacháinPerson: G Ó LeidhinnPerson: AnnascaulPerson: C Ó MuircheartaighPerson: F Ó CuanaighPerson: F SauerlandPerson: B O ConchuirPerson: M AghasPerson: R MacCárthaighPerson: T Ó DubháinPerson: C FirtéarPerson: M O BeolainPerson: C FailbhePerson: D UsosisPerson: L O BambairePerson: R BegleyPerson: FailbhePerson: Ó BambairePerson: S ConnorPerson: MacCartháighPerson: J ÓMuircheartaighPerson: Ó BeoláinPerson: E HourihanePerson: J CollinsPerson: C O’DriscollPerson: S WalshPerson: S FitzgeraldPerson: E O’DriscollPerson: E ConnollyPerson: J CowapPerson: P O’DriscollPerson: R FoleyPerson: E O’ConnorPerson: O’Donovan RossaPerson: L BrownPerson: K HurleyPerson: ConnollyPerson: K O’DonovanPerson: T McCarthyOrganisation: Pobalscoil Corca DhuibhneOrganisation: Pobalscoil Chorca DhuibhneOrganisation: DingleOrganisation: SkibbereenOrganisation: Corn U&Organisation: MhuirOrganisation: Munster colleges SFCOrganisation: Skibbereen Community CollegeOrganisation: Kerry schoolOrganisation: West CorkOrganisation: UsosisOrganisation: PSOrganisation: Chorca DhuibhneOrganisation: GaeltachtOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: O’Donovan Rossa
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd