Resilient Cork power on against Wexford and now target three-in-row

Cork 0-19 Wexford 0-15 (AET)
Resilient Cork power on against Wexford and now target three-in-row

Eleven times the teams were deadlocked, before the match-winning scores arrived in the second period of extra-time from Hannah Looney, Katrina Mackey (2) and Briege Corkery.

The late surge brought an end to a remarkable contest where both teams went out to control certain areas of the field.

It, was however, a see-saw battle, Cork’s resilience seeing them through to a mouth-watering September 11 showdown with old foes Kilkenny – a repeat of the 2014 final and a record-seeking 27th title for the Rebels.

“I am delighted with the spirit we showed,” said manager Paudie Murray. “We never gave up, especially when things were not going according to plan. Other Cork teams might have thrown in the towel but these girls hung in.”

It was 0-8 apiece at the break. And after a largely defensive second 30 minutes, the scoreboard read 0-11 each. Katrina Parrock finding space to squeeze over the equalising point in stoppage time.

Mags D’Arcy was superb in the Wexford goal along with newcomers Sarah O’Connor and Emma Walsh. Mary Leacy impressed at centre-back while Kate Kelly, once again, showed her class from placed balls. Orla Cotter and Ashling Thompson combined effectively at midfield with Cotter accurate from place balls and Thompson grabbing a brace from play.

Hannah Looney too enjoyed a marvellous afternoon, the Killeagh lady rattling off four crucial points.

Rena Buckley, Laura Treacy and Pamela Mackey worked tirelessly to curtail the influence of Wexford danger ladies Una Leacy, Kate Kelly and Una Sinnott, while Gemma O’Connor - pitted against Katrina Parrock on the 40 – didn’t put a foot wrong. After 70 minutes (tied 0-14), it was still impossible to predict the winner. However, the Wexford legs tired, while Cork were able to find another gear. They closed out with five points to the Slaneysider’s one.

The Cats stand between them and three-in-a-row All Ireland titles.

Scorers for Cork: O Cotter (0-5, 0-3 frees, 0-1 45), H Looney (0-4), B Corkery and K Mackey (0-3 each), A Thompson (0-2), P Mackey and E O’Sullivan (0-1 each).

Scorers for Wexford: K Kelly (0-8, 0-7 frees, 0-1 45m), K Parrock (0-2), L Bolger, U Leacy, U Sinnott, E Walsh and M Leacy (0-1 each).

CORK: A Murray; P Mackey, L Treacy, L O’Sullivan; M Cahalane, G O’Connor, R Buckley; O Cotter, A Thompson (Capt); H Looney, O Cronin, E O’Sullivan; A O’Connor, B Corkery, K Mackey.

Sub: J Hosford for O Cronin (69).

WEXFORD: M D’Arcy; K Atkinson, S Nolan (Capt), C Storey; S O’Connor, M Leacy, D Codd; E Walsh, S Kehoe; U Sinnott, K Parrock, S Kehoe; K Kelly, U Leacy, L Bolger.

Subs: C Foxe for U Sinnott (48), L O’Leary for D Codd (70), U Sinnott for L Bolger (78).

Referee: Owen Elliott (Antrim).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.