Brian Cody makes five changes for Clare clash

Jackie Tyrrell, TJ Reid, and Richie Hogan come into the Kilkenny team among five changes for tomorrow’s Allianz HL Division 1 semi-final with Clare in Semple Stadium (throw-in 4pm).
Brian Cody makes five changes for Clare clash

Having shuffled his pack for the quarter-final victory over Offaly, Cats manager Brian Cody has again changed things, though some of the switches are injury-enforced.

Tyrrell and Joey Holden are chosen in the full-back line as Paul Murphy and Robert Lennon are ruled out, while Pádraig Walsh’s selection at right half-back allows Cillian Brennan to parent Lester Ryan at midfield, with Michael Fennelly missing out.

Up front, Reid and Hogan return, replacing Colin Fennelly, who is injured, and Liam Blanchfield. Two-time All-Star Michael Rice, who didn’t feature in senior championship in 2014 or 2015, is added to the substitutes’ bench along with Conor Delaney, Joe Lyng, and Alan Murphy.

Limerick, who take on Waterford at 2pm, have three changes from their quarter-final win over Dublin. Paudie O’Brien replaces Wayne McNamara in the half-back line while Gearóid Hegarty and Cian Lynch come into the attack instead of Shane Dowling and Graeme Mulcahy. Darragh Fives is named at midfield for Waterford as Maurice Shanahan (hamstring) misses out, their only change after beating Wexford.

There are two changes to the Dublin U21 side for today’s All-Ireland U21FC semi-final against Mayo in Tullamore (2.45pm). Eoin Murchan and Shane Clayton come into the side for Declan Monaghan and Glenn O’Reilly.

Meanwhile, Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice has confirmed Johnny Buckley and Peter Crowley suffered knocks in last weekend’s Allianz FL Division 1 semi-final win over Roscommon, but should be available for next week’s final with Dublin. The recoveries of Anthony Maher and James O’Donoghue are progressing on schedule, but neither are yet ready to take part in football training.

KILKENNY (SH v Clare):

E Murphy (Glenmore); J Tyrrell (James Stephens), J Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), S Prendergast (Clara); P Walsh (Tullaroan), K Joyce (Rower-Inistioge), C O’Shea (Clara); L Ryan (Clara), C Buckley (Dicksboro); W Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon), TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), K Kelly (St Patrick’s); J Power (Carrickshock), J Farrell (Thomastown), R Hogan (Danesfort). Subs: R Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), B Kennedy (St Lachtain’s), C Delaney (Erin’s Own), D Cody (James Stephens), J Lyng (Rower Inistioge), C Martin (Emeralds), M Malone (Mullinavat), M Rice (Carrickshock), C Bolger (Clara), L Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge), A Murphy (Glenmore).

LIMERICK (SH v Waterford):

N Quaid (Effin); S O’Brien (Patrickswell), R McCarthy (Blackrock), R English (Doon); P O’Brien (Kilmallock), D Byrnes (Patrickswell), R Lynch (Na Piarsaigh); G O’Mahony (Kilmallock), P Browne (Bruff); G Hegarty (St Patrick’s), J Ryan (Garryspillane), C Lynch (Patrickswell); B Nash (South Liberties), K Downes (Na Piarsaigh), T Morrissey (Ahane).

WATERFORD (SH v Limerick):

S O’Keeffe (Ballygunner); S Fives (Tourin), B Coughlan (Ballygunner), N Connors (Passage); T de Búrca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg), A Gleeson (Mount Sion), P Mahony (Ballygunner); J Barron (Fourmilewater), D Fives (Tourin); K Moran (De La Salle), S Bennett (Ballysaggart), M Walsh (Stradbally); P Curran (Dungarvan), J Dillon (De La Salle), C Dunford (Colligan).

DUBLIN (U21F v Mayo):

L Molloy (St Anne’s); E Murchan (Na Fianna), S Clayton (Ballyboden St Enda’s), M Cahalin (Cuala); C O’Shea (Kilmacud Crokes), S McMahon (Raheny), E Smith (Skerries Harps); A Foley (Clontarf), D McIlgorm (Skerries Harps); C Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s), B Howard (Raheny), K Deeley (Na Fianna); C Sallier (Thomas Davis), C O’Callaghan (Cuala), D Spillane (Cuala).

More in this section

GaaHurlingPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: TullamorePlace: BallybodenPerson: Brian CodyPerson: Jackie TyrrellPerson: TJ ReidPerson: Richie HoganPerson: TyrrellPerson: Joey HoldenPerson: Paul MurphyPerson: Robert LennonPerson: Pádraig WalshPerson: Cillian BrennanPerson: Lester RyanPerson: Michael FennellyPerson: ReidPerson: HoganPerson: Colin FennellyPerson: Liam BlanchfieldPerson: Michael RicePerson: Conor DelaneyPerson: Joe LyngPerson: Alan MurphyPerson: Paudie O’BrienPerson: Wayne McNamaraPerson: Gearoid HegartyPerson: Cian LynchPerson: Shane DowlingPerson: Graeme MulcahyPerson: Darragh FivesPerson: Maurice ShanahanPerson: Eoin MurchanPerson: Shane ClaytonPerson: Declan MonaghanPerson: Glenn O’ReillyPerson: Éamonn FitzmauricePerson: Johnny BuckleyPerson: Peter CrowleyPerson: Anthony MaherPerson: James O’DonoghuePerson: KilkennyPerson: E MurphyPerson: J TyrrellPerson: James StephensPerson: J HoldenPerson: S PrendergastPerson: ClaraPerson: P WalshPerson: K JoycePerson: Rower-InistiogePerson: C O’SheaPerson: L RyanPerson: C BuckleyPerson: W WalshPerson: Tullogher-Person: K KellyPerson: J PowerPerson: J FarrellPerson: R HoganPerson: DanesfortPerson: R ReidPerson: B KennedyPerson: C DelaneyPerson: D CodyPerson: J LyngPerson: Rower InistiogePerson: C MartinPerson: M MalonePerson: MullinavatPerson: M RicePerson: C BolgerPerson: L BlanchfieldPerson: BennettsbridgePerson: A MurphyPerson: LimerickPerson: N QuaidPerson: EffinPerson: S O’BrienPerson: PatrickswellPerson: R McCarthyPerson: R EnglishPerson: DoonPerson: P O’BrienPerson: D ByrnesPerson: R LynchPerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: G O’MahonyPerson: P BrownePerson: BruffPerson: G HegartyPerson: J RyanPerson: GarryspillanePerson: C LynchPerson: B NashPerson: K DownesPerson: T MorrisseyPerson: AhanePerson: S O’KeeffePerson: S FivesPerson: TourinPerson: B CoughlanPerson: N ConnorsPerson: T de BurcaPerson: ClashmorePerson: A GleesonPerson: P MahonyPerson: J BarronPerson: FivesPerson: K MoranPerson: S BennettPerson: M WalshPerson: StradballyPerson: P CurranPerson: J DillonPerson: La SallePerson: C DunfordPerson: L MolloyPerson: E MurchanPerson: FiannaPerson: S ClaytonPerson: M CahalinPerson: S McMahonPerson: RahenyPerson: E SmithPerson: HarpsPerson: A FoleyPerson: ClontarfPerson: D McIlgormPerson: Skerries HarpsPerson: C BasquelPerson: ST ENDA’SPerson: B HowardPerson: K DeeleyPerson: Na FiannaPerson: C SallierPerson: Thomas DavisPerson: C O’CallaghanPerson: CualaPerson: D SpillaneEvent: Allianz HL Division 1Event: All-Ireland U21FCOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: CatsOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: Dublin U21Organisation: MayoOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: SHOrganisation: GlenmoreOrganisation: Ballyhale ShamrocksOrganisation: DicksboroOrganisation: St Patrick’sOrganisation: CarrickshockOrganisation: ThomastownOrganisation: St Lachtain’sOrganisation: Erin’s OwnOrganisation: EmeraldsOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: KilmallockOrganisation: South LibertiesOrganisation: BallygunnerOrganisation: Mount SionOrganisation: FourmilewaterOrganisation: TourinOrganisation: De La SalleOrganisation: BallysaggartOrganisation: DungarvanOrganisation: DeOrganisation: ColliganOrganisation: U21FOrganisation: St Anne’sOrganisation: ’sOrganisation: Kilmacud Crokes
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.241 s