Daire Quinn and Dan McCormack set to debut for Tipperary

The Tipperary team to face Dublin in the opening round of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A in Semple Stadium tomorrow night (7pm) features two debutants.
Daire Quinn and Dan McCormack set to debut for Tipperary

Nenagh Éire Óg’s Daire Quinn is selected to partner Michael Breen at midfield while Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh) is chosen at right half-forward, where he joins Patrick Maher and Jason Forde.

Maher and Forde are two of the seven survivors from Tipp’s All-Ireland semi-final loss to Galway last August, with Darren Gleeson, Cathal Barrett, Brendan Maher, James Barry, and Pádraic Maher the other players to have started that game.

In the Galway game, Noel McGrath made his return as a sub following his recovery from cancer. He is chosen at right corner-forward for what will be his first competitive start for the county since the league quarter-final win over Offaly last March.

Kerry’s team to face Laois in Division 1B in Portlaoise on Sunday sees a debut given to Jack Goulding, who won an All-Ireland MFC medal last September. In total, nine of the side which played in the Christy Ring Cup final win over Derry in June are included.

TIPPERARY (HL v Dublin):

D Gleeson (Portroe); C Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), T Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy), M Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); B Maher (Borris-Ileigh), J Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields); M Breen (Ballina), D Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg); D McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), J Forde (Silvermines); N McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), C Kenny (Borris-Ileigh), J McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney). Subs: D Mooney (Éire Óg Annacarthy), R Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), W Ryan (Clonakenny), L Ryan (Drom & Inch), J Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney), J Gallagher (Kildangan), A Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), D Fitzelle (Cashel King Cormacs), S Ryan (Seán Treacys), A Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg), J O’Dwyer (Killenaule).

KERRY (SH v Laois):

M Stackpoole (Lixnaw); S Weir (Crotta O’Neills), B Murphy (Causeway), K Carmody (Causeway); D Collins (Kilmoyley), D Dineen (St Brendan’s), T Murnane (Kilmoyley); P Kelly (Clarecastle), T Casey (Causeway); S Nolan (Crotta O’Neills), M O’Leary (Abbeydorney), C Harty (Causeway); J Egan (St Brendan’s), M Boyle (Ballyduff), J Goulding (Ballyduff). Subs: A McCabe (Kilmoyley), B Brosnan (Lixnaw), J Buckley (Lixnaw), M Milner (Dr Crokes), J Conway (Crotta O’Neills), J Diggins (Causeway), D Fitzelle (Kilmoyley), J Griffin (Lixnaw), P Lucid (Ballyheigue), J O’Connor (Abbeydorney), B O’Leary (Abbeydorney).

DERRY (HL v Antrim):

D McDermott (Banagher); E McGuckin (Swatragh), C McSorley (Ballinascreen), S McCullagh (Banagher); D McCloskey (Banagher), P Kelly (Kevin Lynch’s), D O’Neill (Lavey); O McCloskey (Banagher), T McCloskey (Banagher); J O’Dwyer (Banagher), M McGuigan (Slaughtneil), G O’Kane (Slaughtneil); S Farren (Banagher), R Convery (Swatragh), A Grant (Na Magha). Subs: C Gaile (Eoghan Rua), M McGrath (Slaughtneil), B Quigley (Na Magha), B Douban (Na Magha), D Foley (Na Magha), B Laverty (Lavey), J McCullagh (Ballinascreen), M Conway (Swatragh), N Farren (Banagher), R Leonard (Eoghan Rua), T Magee (Eoghan Rua).

More in this section

GaaPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: PortlaoisePerson: Daire QuinnPerson: Dan McCormackPerson: Nenagh Éire ÓgPerson: Michael BreenPerson: Borris-IleighPerson: Patrick MaherPerson: Jason FordePerson: MaherPerson: FordePerson: Darren GleesonPerson: Cathal BarrettPerson: Brendan MaherPerson: James BarryPerson: Pádraic MaherPerson: Noel McGrathPerson: Jack GouldingPerson: D GleesonPerson: C BarrettPerson: T HamillPerson: Moyne-TempletuohyPerson: M CahillPerson: B MaherPerson: J BarryPerson: M BreenPerson: D QuinnPerson: D McCormackPerson: Lorrha-DorrhaPerson: J FordePerson: N McGrathPerson: Loughmore-CastleineyPerson: C KennyPerson: J McGrathPerson: D MooneyPerson: Éire Óg AnnacarthyPerson: R MaherPerson: Thurles SarsfieldsPerson: W RyanPerson: ClonakennyPerson: L RyanPerson: Drom & InchPerson: J MeagherPerson: J GallagherPerson: KildanganPerson: A RyanPerson: Templederry KenyonsPerson: D FitzellePerson: Cashel King CormacsPerson: S RyanPerson: Sean TreacysPerson: A CoffeyPerson: J O’DwyerPerson: KillenaulePerson: KerryPerson: ShPerson: M StackpoolePerson: LixnawPerson: S WeirPerson: Crotta O’NeillsPerson: B MurphyPerson: K CarmodyPerson: D CollinsPerson: KilmoyleyPerson: D DineenPerson: T MurnanePerson: P KellyPerson: ClarecastlePerson: T CaseyPerson: S NolanPerson: M O’LearyPerson: AbbeydorneyPerson: C HartyPerson: CausewayPerson: J EganPerson: M BoylePerson: BallyduffPerson: J GouldingPerson: A McCabePerson: B BrosnanPerson: J BuckleyPerson: M MilnerPerson: Dr CrokesPerson: J ConwayPerson: J DigginsPerson: J GriffinPerson: P LucidPerson: BallyheiguePerson: J O’ConnorPerson: B O’LearyPerson: DerryPerson: D McDermottPerson: BanagherPerson: E McGuckinPerson: SwatraghPerson: C McSorleyPerson: S McCullaghPerson: D McCloskeyPerson: Kevin LynchPerson: D O’NeillPerson: LaveyPerson: O McCloskeyPerson: T McCloskeyPerson: M McGuiganPerson: SlaughtneilPerson: G O’KanePerson: S FarrenPerson: R ConveryPerson: A GrantPerson: Na MaghaPerson: C GailePerson: Eoghan RuaPerson: M McGrathPerson: B QuigleyPerson: B DoubanPerson: D FoleyPerson: B LavertyPerson: J McCullaghPerson: M ConwayPerson: N FarrenPerson: R LeonardPerson: T MageeEvent: All-IrelandEvent: Christy Ring CupOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: HLOrganisation: PortroeOrganisation: HolycrossOrganisation: Thurles SarsfieldsOrganisation: UpperchurchOrganisation: SilverminesOrganisation: St Brendan’sOrganisation: Antrim
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd