Lively UCC back on track in Fitzgibbon Cup

UCC 4-18  Maynooth University 0-10 Fitzgibbon Cup Kildare
Lively UCC back on track in Fitzgibbon Cup

UCC got their Fitzgibbon Cup campaign back on track with a comprehensive 20-point victory against Maynooth last night.

Cork star Alan Cadogan led the way for the winners, scoring 1-6 from play as he wreaked havoc in the Maynooth defence throughout a one-sided encounter in North Kildare.

The home side were on the back foot from the beginning and after shipping three goals inside 22 minutes, there was no way back for Liam Hogan’s side.

UCC were relentless from start to finish, making amends for their opening round defeat at home to UCD. With LIT having put 18 points on Maynooth in round one, the score difference was always going to be the most critical factor and apart from a third quarter lull, the visitors piled on the scores.

Cadogan was the main man for UCC and netted the opening goal after just five minutes. By the time Rob O’Shea whipped home a third goal in the 22nd minute, Cadogan had helped himself to 1-3 with Tom Devine scoring UCC’s second goal.

Apart from Paul Winters’ noble efforts at wing forward, Maynooth were second best in every area of the field and they trailed by 12 points at half-time, 3-9 to 0-6.

Conscious of the need to keep the scoreboard ticking over, UCC boss Ger Cunningham introduced former Cork All Star Niall McCarthy at half-time although the scores dried up in the third quarter.

The game became scrappy after the break, which halted UCC’s momentum and they could only register three points in that spell. Maynooth battled gamely but UCC’s superiority began to tell again in the final quarter.

McCarthy popped over a fine point in the 45th minute to reignite the UCC attack and a fourth goal soon followed when Clare star Shane O’Donnell finished with aplomb after Rob O’Shea had put him through.

Cadogan came to life again in the closing stages, slotting over the last two scores.

Scorers for UCC:

R O’Shea 1-9 (6fs, 2 65s); A Cadogan 1-6; T Devine 1-1; S O’Donnell 1-0; J Barron, N McCarthy 0-1 each.


B Molloy 0-4 (3fs); P Winters 0-3 (1f); P Kinsella 0-2fs; N Kenny 0-1.


K Hogan (Clare); C Gleeson (Waterford), D Morrissey (Limerick), S Roche (Waterford); R Cahalane (Cork), M Breen (Tipperary), N Cashman (Cork); J Barron (Waterford), C Walsh (Cork); R O’Shea (Cork), T Devine (Waterford), J Power (Kilkenny); A Cadogan (Cork), DJ Foran (Waterford), S O’Donnell (Clare).


N McCarthy (Cork) for Walsh, H-T; B Lawton (Cork) for Foran, 42; G O’Brien (Waterford) for Cashman, 47; M Howard (Cork) for Power, 51; M O’Connor (Cork) for O’Donnell, 55.


R Fitzgerald (Wicklow); C Breen (Kilkenny), E McLoughlin (Dublin), C Forde (Kildare); D Hennesy (Kilkenny), P Deegan (Kilkenny), J White (Wexford); E Kenny (Kilkenny), R Donohue (Wexford); P Winters (Dublin), A Gleeson (Carlow), N Kenny (Kildare); B Molloy (Galway), D Burke (Kilkenny), P Kinsella (Offaly).


T Stafford (Wexford) for Forde, 26.


J McGrath (Westmeath)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up