Brendan O’Connell starts for Cork in Donegal

Goalkeeper Brendan O’Connell will make his league debut as one of four changes to the Cork side for Sunday’s Allianz FL Division 1 clash with Donegal in Ballyshannon (throw-in 2pm).
Brendan O’Connell starts for Cork in Donegal

A former Republic of Ireland amateur international, O’Connell helped Rockmount to a Munster Senior Cup victory over Cork City last weekend in what prove to be his final game for them. He replaces Ken O’Halloran, while there are two alterations in defence, with Kevin Crowley and Kevin O’Driscoll coming into the side.

Millstreet man Crowley is highly regarded but has been dogged by injuries and this will be his first game for Cork since being forced off in last year’s Munster U21 win against Kerry. He replaces Eoin Cadogan, ruled off after his clash of heads with Mayo’s Lee Keegan last week, while O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh) comes in for Kieran Histon. The other change is in attack, with Donal Óg Hodnett of O’Donovan Rossa taking over the number 12 shirt from Luke Connolly.

Kerry name their side tonight for the clash with Roscommon in Killarney, with Colm Cooper still out as he recovers from shoulder surgery. Aidan O’Mahony’s chances of being selected are 50-50.

CORK (FL v Donegal):

B O’Connell (Glanmire); C O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), K Crowley (Millstreet); T Clancy (Fermoy), B O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), K O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh); I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), M Collins (Castlehaven); A O’Sullivan (Castletownbere), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), D Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa); D Goulding (Éire Óg), P Kelleher (Kilmichael), B Hurley (Castlehaven).


R Price (O’Donovan Rossa), M Shields (St Finbarr’s), M Collins (O’Donovan Rossa), B Daly (Newmarket), K O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), F Goold (Macroom), R Deane (Bantry Blues), D Mac Eoin (Ilen Rovers), D O’Connor (Ballydesmond), S Hickey (Rockchapel), C O’Neill (Ballyclough).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up