Clinical IT Carlow power past St Pat’s

St Pat’s/Mater Dei 2-14 IT Carlow 4-17: IT Carlow claimed victory after a highly entertaining Fitzgibbon Cup clash with St Pat’s/Mater Dei in the Na Fianna’s club grounds in Dublin.

Clinical IT Carlow power past St Pat’s

D J Carey’s side led by just a goal with 10 minutes of play remaining but finished in style to leave nine points between the sides at the final whistle.

Less than 60 seconds had elapsed when Pat’s corner-forward Patrick Curran opened the scoring with a goal, catching the Carlow defence cold under the high ball and curling the ball into the corner of Enda Rowland’s net.

Stephen Maher opened the IT Carlow account with a point before goals from Colin Dunford and Chris Bolger (2) turned the game on its head in a devastating 10 minute scoring spell.

A shell-shocked St Pat’s/Mater Dei were reliant on the deadball accuracy of Curran to stay in touch and they trailed by five points at the break (3-6 to 1-7).

However, that margin was cut to two minutes after the restart when Eoin McIntyre pounced to score his side’s second goal.

Carey’s side showed composure and refused to panic and scores from Stephen Maher and Charles Dwyer quickly settled any concerns and always held at least a three-point buffer.

And that was extended to nine in a devastating final 10 minutes when they racked up point after point before sub Tom Nolan knocked in their fourth goal deep in stoppage time, substitute Tom Nolan scurrying home after Colin Dunford’s shot was stopped by the keeper.

Scorers for St Pat’s:

P Curran 1-10 (7f), T Devlin 0-1, R Fitzpatrick 0-1 (1f), E McIntyre 1-1, P Walshe 0-1.

Scorers for IT Carlow:

S Maher 0-11 (5f), C Dunford 1-1, C Bolger 2-0, J Fagan 0-2, C Dwyer 0-3, T Nolan 1-0.


P Simms, D Egan, C Shaw, K Treacy, P Spellacy, R Fitzpatrick, J McGrath, J DeBarin (F O Cuirrin 55), N Mullins, P Walshe, M Collins, E Price, E McIntyre, P Curran, T Devlin (C Breathnach 42)


E Rowland, K Hannafin, T Gallagher( D O’Hanlon 49), R Brown; D Healy, W Young, D Palmer, C Dunford, K Kelly(T Nolan 47), C Dwyer, M Harney, S Maher, M Russell, J Fagan, C Bolger.


Brian Byrne (Louth).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up