Hayes strike inspires Waterford IT

St Patrick’s Drumcondra 0-9 - Waterford IT 1-19, Fitzgibbon Cup DCU Sportsgrounds

Hayes strike inspires Waterford IT

Waterford IT brushed aside St Patrick’s College Drumcondra on a wet and wintery afternoon in North Dublin.

The strong breeze favoured the hosts in the first-half, and they led 0-6 to 0-4 at the break, with WIT’s Eoin and Liam McGrath missing five first-half frees whereas the hosts knocked over four dead balls.

Strong work from the half back line of Tom Fox, Joe O’Dwyer and Frank McGrath kept WIT in touch at the break and they came out fighting in the second-half, levelling the match within two minutes before knocking the wind out of the St Pat’s sails with a route one goal.

The introduction of Mark Lynch five minutes into the second-half caught the Pat’s defence out and Johnny Hayes capitalised, racing onto Mark Fanning’s long puck-out before driving home a close-range goal.

WIT quickly took control with Eoin and Liam McGrath scoring from play as the visitors made the most of the strong breeze and punished St. Pats from range.

WIT’s constant pressure and work-rate limited the hosts to just three points from play, Patrick Curran showing composure for St. Pats with six long and close range frees, three against the second-half wind.

Despite introducing four second-half substitutes, WIT retained their intent with Ciarán O’Brien and Mark Lynch making the scoresheet.

Eoin McGrath and Ciaran O’Brien landed points from long range angles with St. Pats struggling to match the Munster side’s fitness late on.

The margin could have been wider but Eoin McGrath just failed to clip the ball past Pats keeper Jack Higgins and a late Lynch effort ruled out for a square ball.

Scorers for St. Patricks Drumcondra:

P Curran (0-6f); E Price (0-2); J McGrath (0-1).

Scorers for Waterford I.T:

E McGrath (2f), L McGrath (3f) (0-5 each); J Hayes (1-1); C. O’Brien (0-3); S Roche (0-2); C Guriy, S.McNulty, J Langton, M Lynch (0-1 each)

ST PATRICK’S: J Higgins, D Egan, C Shaw, K Treacy, P Spellman, R Fitzpatrick, J McGrath, N Mullins, J Barron (F O Cuirrin 50), P Walshe (C Breathnach 40), M Collins, E Price, E McIntyre (J Bruton 55), P Curran, T Devlin (P Sutton 40)

WATERFORD IT: M.Fanning, W.Hassey, G.Techan, G Maher, T Fox (S Ryan 48), J O’Dwyer, F McGrath (J Henderson 46), J Langton, S McNulty, C Guiry, E McGrath, J Hayes (J Doyle 50), L McGrath, S Roche (M Lynch 35), A Gleeson (C O’Brien 27)

Referee: Christy Browne.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.236 s