Lyndon Fairbrother stars for Templemore

Our Lady’s Templemore 1-17 Castletroy Community College 3-5: Tipp minor Lyndon Fairbrother was star of the show as Our Lady’s Templemore powered past Castletroy Community College in yesterday’s Dr Harty Cup quarter-final at Toomevara.
Lyndon Fairbrother stars for Templemore

Fairbrother had a goal and three points to his credit inside 10 minutes as Templemore opened in blistering fashion and looked set for a huge win.

Castletroy got a lifeline when Mark O’Dwyer’s long range free in the 12th minute ended up in the Templemore net, but with Fairbrother, Jamie Bergin, and Paddy Cadell all showing well for Templemore, the Tipperary boys were in firm control.

However in the closing five minutes of the half O’Dwyer twice struck goals for Castletroy, the first from a penalty, and the second from a long-range free to keep them breathing down the necks of their rivals.

Templemore led 1-11 to 3-3 at the break and in a much tighter second half retained the initiative. They outscored their opponents six points to two in the period, with Fairbrother finishing the day with 1-6 to his credit.

To add to Castletroy woes they had Sean O’Kane sidelined for a second yellow card in the 58th minute but by then the tie was beyond them.

It was an impressive showing by favourites Our Lady’s who are unbeaten in the competition.

Fairbrother was their leading light but fellow county minor Brian McGrath, Jamie Bergin, Diarmuid Ryan, Paddy Cadell, and Gerry Kelly were others to shine.

Castletroy, semi-finalists last year, can have no complaints about the outcome. They never matched the Templemore firepower and their defence was over-stretched trying to contain the Templemore attack.

Mark O Dwyer, who scored 3-4, was their top performer with Kevin McGarry, Colm Carroll, and Brian Nash also prominent.


J Kennedy (J K Brackens); C O Meara (Drom), D Ryan (Clonakenny), E Ryan (Loughmore); T Murphy (J K Brackens), B McGrath (Loughmore 0-1), K Hassett (Drom); P Cadell (J K Brackens 0-1), D O Shea (do); S Nolan (Drom), A Ryan( Loughmore 0-1), J Bergin (Drom 0-4); A O Meara (Drom 0-1), G Kelly (Toomevara 0-2), L Fairbrother (J K Brackens 1-6).


P Bergin (Drom 0-1) for A O Meara; P Nyland (Loughmore) for Cadell; N Quinlan (Moyne) for Nolan;


J Power (Monaleen); J Moloney (do), D Golden-O Mahoney (do), S O Kane (do); F Hourigan (Murroe-Boher), C Carroll (Ahane), D Minehan (do); C Barry (do), K McGarry (Claughaun); M O Dwyer (Monaleen 3-4), B Nash (South Liberties), A Kennedy (Murroe-Boher 0-1); B Garry (South Liberties), C Nicholas (Monaleen), A Nicholas(do).


N O Brien(Broadford) for McGarry;


D Fox, Clare

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.22 s