Munster GAA Hall of Fame honours for Ray Cummins and Ger Loughnane

Cork’s five-time All-Ireland winning dual star Ray Cummins and Clare legend Ger Loughnane will be inducted into the Munster GAA Hall of Fame on Saturday night.
Munster GAA Hall of Fame honours for Ray Cummins and Ger Loughnane

The pair will be honoured at the provincial council’s annual awards gala dinner, which takes place in Dromoland Castle.

Cummins was a force of nature as a forward in the Cork hurlers’ three-in-a-row between 1976, when he was captain, and ’78. The 67-year-old is one of only three Cork men to win 12 Munster medals and became the first of four players to win All-Stars in both codes, picking up four in hurling and one in football in 1971.

A double provincial minor medal winner in 1966, Cummins was also a key member of the Munster team which won the Railway Cup title for the first time since 1949.

Loughnane, a two-time All-Star in the 1970s, guided Clare as manager to two All-Ireland titles in three years in the mid-1990s as well as bringing them to Munster glory on three occasions.

The Feakle man also featured on three Railway Cup winning teams in 1976, ’78, and ’81 while he also claimed a senior county championship with his club in 1988.

Munster chairman Robert Frost acknowledged the Hall of Fame recipients: “Ger Loughnane was a great player and as manager brought unprecedented success and pride to Clare hurling. Ray Cummins was one of the greatest ever dual players and was instrumental in Cork’s All-Ireland senior football triumph in 1973. Their many achievements are worthy of recognition and I am delighted to see them honoured with this year’s Hall of Fame awards.”

Tipperary’s Paul Collins of Today FM was also acknowledged with the media award. The Eire Óg Annacarty man has been a regular voice on the national airwaves since 1997 and presents the Championship Sunday show on the station as well as owning his own Ballywire media production company.

Waterford’s Michael Wadding, who officiated in the 2010 All-Ireland SHC final, will receive the Services to Refereeing award.

Current Westmeath hurling manager Michael Ryan will be given the Special Merit award for his contribution to Gaelic games in his native county of Waterford and beyond.

Limerick’s Diarmuid Byrnes will pick up the intermediate hurling award and Conor Cox of Kerry will be handed the equivalent for his exploits in this year’s junior championship.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.