Bantry Blues bid to crown perfect season

The best club football stars in Ireland will take centre stage this weekend as the All-Ireland Ladies club football championship finals are down for decision.
Bantry Blues bid to crown perfect season

First up, it will be the turn of the junior finalists Bantry Blues (Cork) and Dunboyne (Meath) who go head-to-head at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick (throw-in 1.30pm).

This is the first time for each side to contest an All-Ireland final, and whoever is better equipped to handle the nerves and pressure of the big occasion could emerge victorious.

Bantry have had a phenomenal year, winning at county level for the first time, before progressing through Munster and on to All-Ireland final day.

A tough test in the Munster final against Templemore will surely stand to them, and the never-say-die attitude they displayed during that replay (which went to extra-time) could prove crucial this afternoon.

Dunboyne are no strangers to tough tests either, though, having faced off Dublin side Skerries Harps in a closely-contested Leinster final, before accounting for Maigh Cuilinn of Galway in their last outing.

Parnell Park hosts an intermediate and senior double header, with Milltown (Westmeath) and Cahir (Tipperary) getting the action underway with the IFC showpiece (1pm).

Aisling Moloney and Aisling McCarthy are central figures for Cahir, whose last All-Ireland final appearance ended in defeat to Parnells in 2012.

Opponents Milltown are contesting their first national final.

The experience of county players like Kelly Boyce Jordan, Ruth Kearney and Jennifer Rogers could prove decisive.

The weekend’s main event, the senior final between Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) and Mourneabbey (Cork) throws in at 2.45pm. The match-up between Cora Courtney and Róisín O’Sullivan will be interesting.

Courtney claimed her third consecutive All Star last month and her eye for scores could prove the difference.


S O’Sullivan; E McGovern, A Crowley, D O’Shea; M Dullea, A Coakley, L O’Sullivan (capt); E Spillane, J Coakley; N Crowley, M O’Sullivan, K O’Brien; S Coakley, A O’Driscoll, L Coppinger.


M Clince; C Barker, L Byrne, E O’Byrne; D Blaney, E Doyle, A Marie Moffatt; J Kavanagh (capt.), A Coyne; S Melia, A Jones, S Hackett; A Thompson, V Wall, F O’Neill.


N Murphy; O Casey, A Casey, L McEniry; A M Ryan, E Buckley, E Flannery; A M O’Gorman (capt), A Moloney; A Corcoran, A McCarthy, C Casey; K Downey, O McEniry, R Howard.


G Byrne; L Kiernan, H Walsh, R Halligan; K Boyce Jordan (capt), J Rogers, R Dillon; R Kearney, T Dillon; B Beglan, F Kearney, L Slevin; L Kiernan, S Boyce, L Keena.

More in this section

GaaFootballPlace: IrelandPlace: MeathPlace: Gaelic GroundsPlace: LimerickPlace: GalwayPlace: Parnell ParkPlace: WestmeathPlace: TipperaryPlace: MonaghanPerson: Aisling MoloneyPerson: Aisling McCarthyPerson: CahirPerson: Kelly Boyce JordanPerson: Ruth KearneyPerson: Jennifer RogersPerson: DonaghmoynePerson: MourneabbeyPerson: Cora CourtneyPerson: Roisin O’SullivanPerson: CourtneyPerson: BANTRY BLUESPerson: S O’SullivanPerson: E McGovernPerson: CrowleyPerson: D O’SheaPerson: M DulleaPerson: A CoakleyPerson: L O’SullivanPerson: E SpillanePerson: J CoakleyPerson: N CrowleyPerson: M O’SullivanPerson: K O’BrienPerson: S CoakleyPerson: A O’DriscollPerson: L CoppingerPerson: DunboynePerson: M ClincePerson: C BarkerPerson: L ByrnePerson: E O’ByrnePerson: D BlaneyPerson: E DoylePerson: Marie MoffattPerson: J KavanaghPerson: S MeliaPerson: JonesPerson: S HackettPerson: A ThompsonPerson: V WallPerson: F O’NeillPerson: N MurphyPerson: O CaseyPerson: A CaseyPerson: L McEniryPerson: A M RyanPerson: E BuckleyPerson: E FlanneryPerson: A M O’GormanPerson: A MoloneyPerson: A CorcoranPerson: McCarthyPerson: C CaseyPerson: K DowneyPerson: O McEniryPerson: R HowardPerson: G ByrnePerson: L KiernanPerson: H WalshPerson: R HalliganPerson: K Boyce JordanPerson: J RogersPerson: R DillonPerson: R KearneyPerson: T DillonPerson: B BeglanPerson: F KearneyPerson: L SlevinPerson: S BoycePerson: L KeenaEvent: All-Ireland Ladies club football championshipEvent: All-Ireland finalEvent: All-IrelandEvent: MunsterEvent: LeinsterEvent: IFCEvent: All StarOrganisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: DunboyneOrganisation: BantryOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: TemplemoreOrganisation: Skerries HarpsOrganisation: Maigh CuilinnOrganisation: MilltownOrganisation: Parnells
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.