UCD finish strongly to claim Ryan Cup

UCD 2-18 DCU 0-12: UCD finished strongly to claim the Ryan Cup, following victory over rivals DCU in last night’s HE SFL Division 1 Final at Parnell Park.

UCD finish strongly to claim Ryan Cup

Goals from Laois’s Eoin Lowry and Meath’s Padraic Harnan helped the Belfield outfit to success in ideal weather conditions.

Little separated the sides in the opening stages, but UCD stole an early lead with Lowry in superb form, finishing with 1-6.

However, DCU pushed 0-6 to 0-4 ahead at the end of the opening quarter, with Wicklow’s Conor McGraynor; Dublin’s Conor McHugh and Laois’s Stephen Attride on target. Disaster struck for DCU in the 19th minute, after the ball ricocheted off defender Dessie Ward and into the net..

This pushed the Belfield side into the lead, one they wouldn’t relinquish.

John Divilly’s charges kicked on before the break and took a 2-9 to 0-8 interval lead thanks to an injury-time goal from Padraic Harnan.

UCD extended their advantage on the restart with points from Niall Kelly and Paul Mannion.

McGraynor and Sean O’Dea traded scores as DCU edged back into the game.

UCD began to struggle in the midfield sector from kick-out’s and were made pay as DCU reduced the deficit.

A brace of points from substitute Ryan Lyons left two goals between the sides with 13 minutes left.

However, DCU failed to score again, as UCD cemented victory with points from Lowry, Tommy Moolick, Paul Mannion, James McEntee and Paul Kingston late on.


E Keogh; R Wylie, D Hyland, M Fitzsimons; C Mullaly, D Byrne, S O’Dea (0-1); D Murphy (0-1), T Moolick (0-1); N Kelly (0-1), P Harnan (1-0), J McCaffrey (0-1); E Lowry (1-6, 3f), P Mannion (0-4, 1f), P Kingston (0-2, 1f).


R McDaid for Byrne (39); J McEntee (0-1) for Kelly (46); L Casey for Murphy (52); J Barry for McCaffrey (54); N McInerney for Mullaly (55); T Hayes for Lowry (29);


B Flynn; S Attride (0-1), A O’Halloran, D Ward; D Reynolds, C Moynagh, R Connor; D Byrne, S Carthy; S O’Brien, K Feely, T Lahiff; C McHugh (0-5, 3f), U Harney (0-1), C McGraynor (0-3, 1f).


C McNally for Reynolds (27); C Breheny for O’Brien (27); N Gavigan for O’Halloran (38); J Bealin for Moynagh (41); R Lyons (0-2, 2f) for McHugh (43) C Plunkett for Carthy (52)


David Gough (Meath)

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.312 s