Redoubtable Rathmore overcome brave battlers De La Salle, Macroom

SP SL, Rathmore 3-19 De La Salle, Macroom 3-5: It’s now three wins from three for Pobalscoil Sliabh Luachra, Rathmore, in the Corn Uí Mhuirí after yet another impressive display in Mallow.

Redoubtable Rathmore overcome brave battlers De La Salle, Macroom

This time it was De La Salle, Macroom, who felt the full force of an impressive Kerry outfit that made light of the blustery conditions.

Rathmore were impressive from the first whistle and never let up against a Cork side that battled bravely throughout. First-half goals from corner-forward Shane O’Sullivan and full-forward Ian Roche set the winners on their way while wing forward Donal Moynihan, John O’Leary and Brian Friel also landed some fine scores.

The midfield pairing of Mark Ryan and JJ Herlihy dominated with centre-back Ciaran O’Connor and wing backs Patrick Warren and Connie O’Connor also to the fore. Macroom goalkeeper Scott Lucey kept his side in contention with a series of excellent saves. Outside him, Liam O’Sullivan and Chris Óg Jones also played well with the latter bagging a goal after 10 minutes which left his side trailing by nine points (2-10 to 1-4) at the break.

Midway through the second half Macroom sub Trevor Tobin goal closed the gap but it was shortlived as Ian Cronin had the ball in the net for the winners after 54 minutes, their third of the day.

Macroom battled on and were rewarded with their third goal on the stroke of full time that put a gloss on the final score line that their effort deserved.

Scorers for CP SL Rathmore:

J O’Leary 0-5 (three frees); S Sullivan 1-1; D Moynihan 0-4; I Roche, I Cremin 1-0 each; Ciaran O’Connor (one free), Connie O’Connor, M Mahoney 0-2 each; M Ryan, P Warren, B Friel 0-1 each.

De La Salle Macroom:

M Healy 1-1; C Óg Jones, L O’Sullivan, T Tobin 1-0 each; A Quinn, K Murphy, L Wall 0-1 each.

Scoil Phobail Sliabh Luachra Rathmore:

J Cronin (Gneeveguilla); D Cronin (Rathmore), DJ Murphy (Gneeveguilla), D Callaghan (Rathmore); P Warren (Gneeveguilla), Ciaran O’Connor, Connie O’Connor (Gneeveguilla); M Ryan (Rathmore), JJ Herlihy (Gneeveguilla); J O’Leary (Gneeveguilla), B Friel (Rathmore), D Moynihan (Rathmore); C O’Leary (Gneeveguilla), I Roche (Glenflesk), S Sullivan (Gneeveguilla).


I Cronin (Gneeveguilla) for I Roche (inj)(half time), H Cronin (Gneeveguilla) for D Callaghan (45), M Mahoney (Knocknagree) for D Cronin (45), B Crowley (Rathmore) for C O’Leary (50), S Twomey (Knocknagree) for B Friel (55), T Fleming (Gneeveguilla) for P Warren (57).

De La Salle Macroom:

S Lucey (Aghinagh); B Hinchion (Kilmurry), L Wall (Kilmurry), J Cronin (Macroom); J O’Mullane (Kilmurry), E O’Gorman (Macroom), L O’Sullivan (Kilmurry); C Foley (Kilmichael), A Quinn (Macroom); B O’Gorman (Macroom), C Og Jones (Kilmichael), K Murphy (Kilmichael); M Healy (Canovee), C Dineen (Macroom), G Fitton (Kilmurry).


T Tobin (Kilmichael) for C Dineen (half time), J Murphy (Canovee) for K Murphy (45), J Pickering (Uibh Laoire) for J Cronin (53).


W Barrett (Tipperary)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up