Buttevant take title after thrilling finish

Buttevant 3-5 Macroom 1-9: Buttevant held off a ferocious Macroom comeback to win the Rebel Óg Minor A county football championship at Ballinlough on Saturday.
Buttevant take title after thrilling finish

Scoring was minimal early on. After a Robert Healy point in the third minute, Macroom were held scoreless for the next 15. In that period the hot favourites Buttevant made silly handling errors before they struck with a goal in the 13th minute. A high ball into the square saw Ryan Fowley on hand to punch home.

Macroom continued to win the majority of dirty ball and consecutive points in added time from Cathal O’Riordan and Don Creedon gave them a 0-6 to 1-2 lead at the interval.

Buttevant were inspired on the restart and two goals and a point in the opening four minutes gave them a six-point lead. The first goal saw a perfect John O’Neill assist find Chris O’Toole who finished with aplomb, and three minutes later the pace of Ryan Fowley took him clear before billowing the net for goal number two.

Macroom then outplayed their opponents for long periods and after consecutive points, full-back Paul Farrell was on hand to drill a superb shot to the corner of the net.

Buttevant responded to the wake-up call and a late point from substitute Mark Lenehan ensured them the title.

Scorers for Buttevant:

R Fowley (2-0); C O’Toole (1-0); K Lenehan (0-3f); D O’Sullivan, M Lenehan (0-1 each).

Scorers for Macroom:

P Farrell (1-0); D Creedon (0-2); C O’Riordan (0-2 1 free); A Quinn (0-2, 1 free); R Healy, E O’Gorman, E O’Leary (0-1 each).


R O’Donovan; B O’Connor, J O’Riordan, J Whelan; E Heelan, S Madigan, B Flynn; J O’Neill, K Lenehan; C O’Gorman, R Fowley, J Whelan; C O’Toole, N Crowley, D O’Sullivan.


O Noonan for E Heelan (ht), L O’Regan Edwards for S Madigan (bc 49), M Lenehan for K Lenehan (inj 60).


C Mac Charthaigh; J Kelleher, P O’Farrell, R Creed; A Quinn, K O’Dwyer, A Ryan; J Cronin, B O’Gorman; C O’Riordan, E O’Leary, M Corrigan; D Creedon, E O’Gorman, R Healy.


J O’Donovan for R Healy (43), C Dineen for C O’Riordan (55).


Cormac Dineen (Douglas).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up