Marvellous St Michael’s make no mistake at second attempt

St Michael’s 1-13 Kiskeam 1-8: St Michael’s made no mistake at the second time of asking at Donoughmore on Saturday night to advance to a Cork Premier IFC semi-final against Castletownbere.

Marvellous St Michael’s make no mistake at second attempt

Playing a marvellous brand of football, the city side laid the foundations for victory in the opening half. Rock solid in defence where Ciaran O’Shaughnessy and Mark Ryan were seldom beaten, they hit seven points without reply in the opening 25 minutes, with hugely impressive Eoghan Buckley and Michael Mulconry leading the charge.

In stark contrast, Kiskeam struggled all over the field. They were forced to defend for long spells and it took them 26 minutes to open their account, via a Michael Herlihy point.

The Duhallow side finally settled and finished the half with two further points from Billy Dennehy to trail by four at the break, 0-7 to 0-3.

Kiskeam were expected to continue their comeback but it was Michael’s who upped the ante with an Eric Hegarty point. And they extended their advantage with a 35th minute goal.

Kiskeam keeper Anthony Casey saved magnificently from Keith Hegarty following a defence splitting passing movement, but the ball ran free and Mark Drummond coolly slotted the break home.

Michael’s were rampant and added two further points to stretch their lead to eight by the three quarter-stage and Kiskeam looked to be in for a drubbing.

However they refused to throw in the towel, and a Michael Herlihy goal, after good work by Gene Casey, gave them some hope.

The excellent outfield play of Tomas Dennehy and Michael Casey, Kiskeam cut the deficit further with points by Tomas O’Sullivan and Michael Herlihy.

Herlihy had another great goal chance but was denied by substitute goalkeeper Alan Deasy. St Michael’s put up the shutters, and despite losing Shane O’Keeffe to yellow and black cards, they ran out comfortable winners.

Scorers for St. Michael’s:

E. Hegarty 0-4 (frees); M. Drummond 1-0; E. Buckley, M. Mulconry, P. Cronin (0-1 free) 0-3 each.

Scorers for Kiskeam:

M. Herlihy 1-1; B. Dennehy 0-3 (0-2 frees); S. O’Sullivan (free), T. O’Sullivan (free), T. Dennehy, G. Casey 0-1 each.


C. Hartnett; D. O’Shea, C. O’Shaughnessy, R. Dineen; E. Hegarty, M. Ryan, A. O’Callaghan; S. O’Keeffe, P. Doyle; D. Meaney, M. Mulconry, M. Drummond; K. Hegarty, E. Buckley, P. Cronin.


A. Deasy for C. Hartnett (30); D. Crowley for C. O’Shaughnessy (40); A. Murphy for M. Ryan (45); S. Keating for E. Hegarty (45); D. Cremin for P. Doyle (55); S., O’Sullivan for K. Hegarty (56).


A. Casey; D. O’Connor, P. O’Leary, DJ Casey; AJ O’Connor, D. Linehan, S. Linehan; T. Dennehy, M. Casey; D. Fitzgerald, A. Carroll, B. Dennehy; G. Casey, D. Scannell, M. Herlihy.


T. O’Sullivan for D. Linehan (15); S. O’Sullivan for B. Dennehy (40).


D. Murnane (Macroom).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd