Richie Cahill happy as gritty Glenville kick on

Glenville 2-10 Ballydesmond 0-5: Glenville remain in the race for IFC honours after overcoming Ballydesmond with an eye-catching performance at Ballyclough yesterday.

Richie Cahill happy as gritty Glenville kick on

Both sides found it difficult to play free-flowing football due to the persistent rain but at crucial stages, Glenville found the composure and grit to record a deserved victory.

Ballydesmond’s cause wasn’t helped by the failure of county player Donncha O’Connor to start and though introduced midway through the second half, the momentum was then very much with Glenville whose goals either side of the interval had laid the foundation for victory.

Glenville manager Richie Cahill was delighted by the workrate shown by his side.

“Much of the opening half was evenly matched but we became more influential, the goals came as a result of harder workrate and turnover of the ball. We expected a tough battle but the loss of Donncha was a major blow for Ballydesmond.

“In recent years, Glenville had struggled and we were disappointed to be relegated but the introduction of young players has seen this side adapt well. In this campaign, we have bettered Millstreet and Ballydesmond, that’s satisfying given Glenville had faltered to Duhallow sides like Newmarket and Kiskeam in the past”.

Cahill preached caution ahead of facing Fermoy or Kildorrery in a quarter-final.

“Up to 12 or 13 dual players are involved with Watergrasshill against Mallow in the Premier IHC.

“It is now about one game at a time and all involved are delighted to be in hunt in both codes”.

The wind and the rain meant poor fare from both sides in the early exchanges - indeed the lone scores in the opening quarter were pointed frees from Glenville’s Paudie Cahill and Dylan O’Donovan.

Ballydesmond came to life then - Bertie O’Callaghan and Shane Kelly central to a productive spell with points from Kelly and Paudie Breen squaring up the contest. Glenville then had the game’s first goal in the 26th minute - a sweeping move saw Kevin O’Neill and sub John Halbert set up Cahill whose effort came off the upright only for the perfectly positioned Halbert to goal from the rebound.

Ahead 1-4 to 0-3 at the break, Glenville’s dominance continued and Ballydesmond faced an uphill task on conceding a penalty with goalkeeper Fergal O’Sullivan black-carded for bundling over Cahill.

From the resultant spot kick, O’Donovan blasted past Ballydesmond replacement Kamil Grubiak.

Ballydesmond introduced county player O’Connor to shoot their initial point to the second half in the 44th minute.

But the comeback never arrived. Mossie Barry, Seán O’Callaghan, Paddy O’Regan and Ger Cahill marshalled the Glenville defence with Noel O’Riordan and Kevin O’Neill also impressing

A lively Glenville attack stretched the Ballydesmond rearguard with Eoin O’Reilly, William Connolly and O’Donovan(2) posting insurance points.

Scorers for Glenville:

D O’Donovan 1-5(1-0p, 0-4f), J Halbert 1-0, P Cahill 0-2(0-1f), S O’Callaghan, E O’Reilly, W Connolly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballydesmond:

S Kelly, P Breen, B O’Callaghan, D O’Connor(f), N Fleming 0-1 each.


A Ricken; D McCarthy, M Barry, P Cronin; S O’Callaghan, P O’Regan, G Cahill; N O’Riordan, K O’Neill; K Coakley, W O’Leary, D O’Donovan; P Cahill, E O’Reilly, B Halbert.


J Halbert for Coakley(23), D Hegarty for Cahill(51), W Connolly for Halbert(56), Coakley for O’Callaghan(57).


F O’Sullivan; Denis Kelly, T Howard, Donal Kelly; J O’Keeffe, S Murphy, L Murphy; S Kelly, B O’Callaghan; N Fleming , B Fleming, Donal O’Connor; N O’Sullivan, J Healy , P Breen.


K Grubiak for F O’Sullivan(34 bc), N O’Connor for Denis Kelly(39), C Linehan for L Murphy(41), Donncha O’Connor for B Fleming(42), R Flynn for N O’Sullivan(54).


D Farrell(Mitchelstown).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballcork gaacork ifcglenvilleballydesmondplace: ballycloughplace: mitchelstownperson: richie cahillperson: glenvilleperson: donncha o’connorperson: donnchaperson: cahillperson: fermoyperson: kildorreryperson: paudie cahillperson: dylan o’donovanperson: bertie o’callaghanperson: shane kellyperson: kellyperson: paudie breenperson: kevin o’neillperson: john halbertperson: halbertperson: ballydesmondperson: fergal o’sullivanperson: o’donovanperson: kamil grubiakperson: o’connorperson: mossie barryperson: sean o’callaghanperson: paddy o’reganperson: ger cahillperson: noel o’riordanperson: eoin o’reillyperson: william connollyperson: d o’donovanperson: j halbertperson: pperson: s o’callaghanperson: e o’reillyperson: w connollyperson: s kellyperson: p breenperson: b o’callaghanperson: d o’connorperson: n flemingperson: a rickenperson: d mccarthyperson: m barryperson: p croninperson: p o’reganperson: g cahillperson: n o’riordanperson: k o’neillperson: k coakleyperson: w o’learyperson: p cahillperson: b halbertperson: coakleyperson: d hegartyperson: o’callaghanperson: f o’sullivanperson: denis kellyperson: t howardperson: donal kellyperson: j o’keeffeperson: s murphyperson: l murphyperson: b flemingperson: donal o’connorperson: n o’sullivanperson: j healyperson: k grubiakperson: n o’connorperson: c linehanperson: r flynnperson: d farrellorganisation: glenvilleorganisation: ballydesmondorganisation: millstreetorganisation: duhalloworganisation: newmarketorganisation: kiskeamorganisation: watergrasshillorganisation: malloworganisation: premier ihc
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up