Impressive Galway secure 25th title with ease

Galway 4-12 Sligo 1-8: Galway earned their 25th Connacht MFC title with a dominant victory over Sligo in the replay at Tuam Stadium last night.

Impressive Galway secure 25th title with ease

First-half goals from Paudie McCormack and Finnian Ó Laoi gave Galway the edge before Sean Kelly’s wrapped up the win with his side’s third in the 38th minute. Sligo got off to a flyer playing against the wind as a third minute free from Nathan Rooney gave the Yeats men the lead, before Kyle Cawley slotted a point from a tight angle to double the lead.

Galway had a shocking day in the drawn match with a tally of 15 wides, but once Paudie McCormack got them off the mark in the ninth minute the Tribesmen settled and five consecutive scores saw them lead 0-5 to 0-2 by the 14th minute.

Galway were well on top throughout the first-half, but Cathal Herron punished a slip from Ian Kent to level the game with an excellent Sligo goal after 15 minutes. But Galway hit back with a deserved goal six minutes from the interval through McCormack, before Ó Laoi gave them a 2-9 to 1-3 lead at the break.

Points from Finnian Cawley and Gaughan hinted at a Sligo revival as they cut the deficit to seven but the home side continued to dominate. Once Kelly and Desmond Connelly goaled it was all over.

Scorers for Galway:

P McCormack 1-2 (1f), S Kelly 1-1, C McDaid 0-3 (2f), F Ó Laoi 1-0, D Connelly 1-0, J Daly 0-2 (1f), E Lee 0-1 (1’45), C Marsden 0-1 (1f), C Ryan 0-1, C Brady 0-1.

Sligo scorers:

C Herron 1-0, L Gaughan 0-3 (2f), K Cawley 0-2 (1f), N Rooney 0-1 (1f), F Cawley 0-1, A McLoughlin 0-1.


R Ó Beolain; C Mulry, D McHugh, I Kent; S Kelly, L Ó Cellaigh, J Daly; C Ó Braonáin, C McDaid; E Lee, F Ó Laoi, C Brady; M Boyle, P McCormack, R Forde.


C Marsden for Forde (h-t), C Ryan for McDaid (39), P O Domhnaill for McCormack (49), B Goldrick for Kent (57), D Connelly for O Braonain (58).


C McGovern; O Gilmartin, E McGuinness, M O’Dowd; N Mullen, F Cawley, S Power; D Cummins, P Kilcoyne; L Gaughan, N Rooney, C Herron; K Cawley, P O’Connor, M Gordon.


A Kerins for Gordon (7-9 blood), S Carrabine for Gilmartin (39), R Kennedy for Herron (47), A McLoughlin for O’Connor (58).


Declan Corcoran (Mayo).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.