Na Piarsaigh rally to snatch draw in thriller

Adare 3-16 Na Piarsaigh 2-19 Limerick SHC

Na Piarsaigh rally to snatch draw in thriller

A joyous shoot-out in the Limerick SHC saw Na Piarsaigh wipe out a nine-point deficit in the space of 10 minutes to rescue an unlikely draw.

In a repeat of the 2009 and 2013 county finals, Adare had been the frontrunners since Willie Griffin opened the scoring with a goal and held a 3-13 to 0-13 advantage with 13 minutes remaining.

Yet Adrian Breen turned the tie on its head with a brace of goals, the second a lucky bouncer that deceived the keeper. With their inter-county stars coming to the fore, points from Kevin Downes and David Breen put Na Piarsaigh level with three minutes in hand.

Adare dug in with a grit characteristic of their whole display to take two late leads, via John Fitzgibbon and Griffin, but Shane Dowling nervelessly converted a pair of frees to force Adare into settling for a third consecutive draw.

That draw is enough to leave Na Piarsaigh in control of Group 2, with Adare scrapping for a top three spot. However they will take encouragement from the attacking brilliance of Griffin, and Mike Mackey, who scored two goals before a knee injury ended his day.

In Group 1 defending champions Kilmallock made it three-from-three, with a 4-13 to 0-17 dismissal of Murroe-Boher.

A huge wind and a Gavin O’Mahony penalty helped them into a 1-10 to 0-4 half-time lead, despite a remarkable 19 wides. Paul Doona’s goal pushed them 12 points clear before Murroe-Boher rallied, scoring eight of the next nine points. However late goals from Graeme Mulcahy and Robbie Egan made the points safe.

Scorers for Adare:

W Griffin (1-8, 4fs), M Mackey (2-1), J Fitzgibbon (0-4, 1f, 1sl), D Hannon, A O’Connell, L O’Brien (0-1 each).

Scorers for Na Piarsaigh:

S Dowling (0-10, 5fs, 3 65s), A Breen (2-3), D Breen, K Downes (0-2 each), D Dempsey, P Casey (0-1 each).


S O’Donoghue; E Costello, J Hannon, R Kennedy; J Gahan, W McNamara, D Sexton; N Mulvihill, J Fitzgibbon; A O’Connell, W Griffin, L O’Brien; M Connolly, D Hannon, M Mackey.


E Ryan for Mackey (48).


P Kennedy; J O’Halloran, N Buckley, K Kennedy; M Foley, J O’Brien, C King; D Breen, P Gleeson; D Dempsey, A Breen, K Downes; D Shepard, S Dowling, P Casey.


R Lynch for O’Halloran (34), K Ryan for Gleeson (41).


J Daly (Kildimo-Pallaskenry).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.258 s