Kilkenny firepower blows Laois away

Kilkenny 2-18 Laois 0-11: All-Ireland champions, Kilkenny confidently claimed a place in the Leinster MHC final against Dublin with an easy 2-18 to 0-11 win over Laois at Nowlan Park yesterday.

Kilkenny firepower blows Laois away

The losers opened full of promise, and took the game to the opposition when playing against the wind. Twice they led in the early stages, with scores from the hugely impressive Mark Kavanagh and Aaron Dunphy.

However, Kilkenny hit back smartly to take control of the game. During a strong seven-minute spell, they bagged 1-3 to get into a sure rhythm.

Points were picked off by John Donnelly, Andrew Gaffney and Tadgh O’Dwyer before Gaffney applied a great finish for the first goal of the game in the 11th minute.

Suddenly Kilkenny were 1-4 to 0-2 in front, and flying.

Laois lost centre-back Denis Cahill to concussion and Kilkenny took advantage, opening up a 1-11 to 0-5 lead by half-time.

The game was over when Kilkenny grabbed a second goal in the 34th minute. Daniel O’Connor created the opening for John Donnelly’s powerful 20m drive.

Laois were virtually a one-man show in attack in the second half, with Kavanagh shooting all but one of their scores.

Scorers for Kilkenny:

A. Gaffney (1-6, 3 frees, 2 ‘65’); J. Donnelly (1-2); J. Cuddihy, N. Walsh (0-2 each); R. Leahy (0-2, 1 free); M.Cody, D. Joyce, D. O’Connor, T. O’Dwyer (0-1 each).

Scorers for Laois:

M. Kavanagh (0-8, 5 frees, 5 ‘65’); A. Dunphy, A. Bergin, S. Phelan (0-1 each).


S. Murphy, M. Cody, T. Walsh, C. McGrath, D. Mullen, D. Joyce, C. Doheny, R. Leahy, J. Connolly, A. Gaffney, J. Donnelly, D. O’Connor, T. O’Dwyer, J. Cuddihy, N. Walsh.

Subs - J. Bergin for O’Connor (inj) 39th min; E.Delaney for D. Mullen 44th min; C. Hennessy for Donnelly 52nd min; R. Butler for Gaffney 57th min; R. Coffey for Cuddihy 57th min.


S. Kelly, J. Geaney, C. Phelan, D. Connolly, L. O’Connell, D. Cahill, L. Cleere, S. Downey, S. Dunphy, S. Phelan, M. Phelan, A. Bergin, M. Kavanagh, R. Phelan, A. Dunphy.

Subs - E. Killeen for D. Cahill (inj) 25th min; D. Conroy for M. Phelan 43rd min; L. Delaney for S. Downey 49th min; A. Mortimer for A. Dunphy 53rd min; R. McEvoy for R. Phelan 54th min.

Referee - A. Devine (Westmeath).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.