Barron and O’Halloran set for Waterford debuts

Seán Barron and Michael O’Halloran are the two Waterford debutants for Sunday’s Munster SFC quarter-final against Tipperary in Semple Stadium (3.30pm).

The Déise are seeking a first provincial championship win since beating Clare in 2010 and it is a first championship game in charge for manager Tom McGlinchey, who led Tipp to the 2002 Munster final, losing to Cork after a replay.

Ardmore clubman Barron is given the vote in goal, with experienced custodian Stephen Enright having departed for the US.

O’Halloran, of Ballinacourt, partners Tommy Prendergast at midfield.


Another notable inclusion is that of former Waterford hurler Liam Lawlor at centre-back, his first championship football game for the county since 2009.

The Tipp goalkeeper, Evan Comerford of Kilsheelan-Kilcash, is also a championship debutant, as is Clonmel Commercials wing-back Séamus Kennedy.

Comerford, along with Colin O’Riordan and Stephen O’Brien, were part of the county U21 side which reached the All-Ireland final.

Three other members of that side, Kevin O’Halloran, Liam Casey and Jason Lonergan, are named as substitutes while Ciarán McDonald is back in the team at full-back after missing the national league.

Meanwhile, Down footballer Martin Clarke is targeting a return to intercounty action in 2015.

While Clarke returned home last autumn after his second stint with Australian rules side Collingwood ended, he has been unable to line out with the Mourne men following a diagnosis of Addison’s Disease.

The condition stops the adrenal glands from producing hormones and leads to chronic fatigue but Clarke, 27, is back playing for his club An Ríocht and is hopeful of a return to Down colours next year.

“When I am going out for a run around home or I’m working on my speed down at my home house on the beach that’s what’s in my head, 2016 red and black,” he told

“It was a very unique situation, you come back, you are not injured but people have to research exactly what is wrong with you.

“But in terms of the people that matter, which were the players, the coaching staff and the whole set-up of the Down County Board, they were really understanding.”

TIPPERARY (SF v Waterford):

E Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash); P Codd (Killenaule), C McDonald (Aherlow), R Kiely (Carbery Rangers); S Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), P Acheson (Moyle Rovers), A Campbell (Moyle Rovers); S O’Brien (Ballina), G Hannigan (Shannon Rovers); C O’Riordan (J K Brackens), P Austin (Borrisokane), G Mulhaire (Arravale Rovers); C Sweeney (Ballyporeen), M Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials), B Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty).

WATERFORD (SF v Tipperary):

S Barron (Ardmore); D Crowley (St Saviour’s), T O’Gorman (The Nire), S Briggs (Ballinacourty); T Ó hUallacháin (An Rinn), L Lawlor (The Nire), M O’Gorman (The Nire); T Prendergast (Kilrossanty), M O’Halloran (Ballinacourty); M Curry (Rathgormack), P Hurney (Ballinacourt), P Whyte (Kilrossanty); M Ferncombe (Ballinacourty), JJ Hutchinson (Gaultier), J Veale (Kilrossanty).

TIPPERARY (JF v Waterford):

G Slattery (Cashel); G Hally (Cahir), D Kearney (Clonmel Óg), D Lynch (Clonmel Commercials); K Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), L Boland (Moyle Rovers), D Leahy (Arravale Rovers); A Mattassa (Clonmel Commercials), M Dunne (Moyle Rovers); D McEnroe (JK Brackens), N McKenna (Cahir), S Leahy (Arravale Rovers); A O’Riordan (JK Brackens), D Lonergan (Cahir), K Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty).

WATERFORD (JF v Tipperary):

D Whitty (Gaultier); P Crowley (St Saviour’s), S Lannon (Stradbally), M Cummins (Brickey Rangers); C Hennessy (Kill), W Hennessy (Ardmore), J McGrath (The Nire); C Guiry (The Nire), J Hurney (Ballinacourt); D Guiry (The Nire), C McGrath (Brickey Rangers), D Power (Kilrossanty); J Curry (Rathgormack), G Hurney (Ballinacourty), S Fleming (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg).


More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: USPerson: BarronPerson: OPerson: HalloranPerson: MichaelPerson: Tom McGlincheyPerson: Stephen EnrightPerson: O’HalloranPerson: Tommy PrendergastPerson: Liam LawlorPerson: Evan ComerfordPerson: Seamus KennedyPerson: ComerfordPerson: Colin O’RiordanPerson: Stephen O’BrienPerson: Kevin O’HalloranPerson: Liam CaseyPerson: Jason LonerganPerson: Ciarán McDonaldPerson: Martin ClarkePerson: ClarkePerson: E ComerfordPerson: P CoddPerson: C McDonaldPerson: R KielyPerson: S KennedyPerson: P AchesonPerson: A CampbellPerson: S O’BrienPerson: G HanniganPerson: C O’RiordanPerson: J K BrackensPerson: P AustinPerson: G MulhairePerson: C SweeneyPerson: M QuinlivanPerson: B FoxPerson: Óg AnnacartyPerson: S BarronPerson: D CrowleyPerson: T O’GormanPerson: NirePerson: S BriggsPerson: BallinacourtyPerson: T O hUallachainPerson: An RinnPerson: L LawlorPerson: The NirePerson: M O’GormanPerson: T PrendergastPerson: KilrossantyPerson: M O’HalloranPerson: M CurryPerson: P HurneyPerson: BallinacourtPerson: P WhytePerson: M FerncombePerson: JJ HutchinsonPerson: GaultierPerson: J VealePerson: G SlatteryPerson: G HallyPerson: D KearneyPerson: D LynchPerson: K FaheyPerson: L BolandPerson: D LeahyPerson: A MattassaPerson: M DunnePerson: D McEnroePerson: JK BrackensPerson: N McKennaPerson: CahirPerson: S LeahyPerson: A O’RiordanPerson: D LonerganPerson: K FoxPerson: Eire Og AnnacartyPerson: D WhittyPerson: P CrowleyPerson: S LannonPerson: StradballyPerson: M CumminsPerson: C HennessyPerson: KillPerson: W HennessyPerson: ArdmorePerson: J McGrathPerson: C GuiryPerson: J HurneyPerson: D GuiryPerson: C McGrathPerson: D PowerPerson: J CurryPerson: RathgormackPerson: G HurneyPerson: S FlemingPerson: ClashmorePerson: KinsalebegEvent: 2002 MunsterEvent: All-Ireland finalOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: DéiseOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: TippOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: ArdmoreOrganisation: BallinacourtOrganisation: Kilsheelan-KilcashOrganisation: Clonmel CommercialsOrganisation: DownOrganisation: CollingwoodOrganisation: An RiochtOrganisation: Down County BoardOrganisation: SFOrganisation: KillenauleOrganisation: AherlowOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: Moyle RoversOrganisation: BallinaOrganisation: Shannon RoversOrganisation: BorrisokaneOrganisation: Arravale RoversOrganisation: BallyporeenOrganisation: St Saviour’sOrganisation: KilrossantyOrganisation: JFOrganisation: CashelOrganisation: Clonmel OgOrganisation: CahirOrganisation: Brickey Rangers
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.223 s