Jamie O’Sullivan for Brian O’Driscoll the sole Cork change for Dublin showdown

The selection of Jamie O’Sullivan for the injured Brian O’Driscoll is the only change in the Cork senior football side for Sunday’s Allianz Football League Division 1 final against Dublin in Croke Park (4pm).

Jamie O’Sullivan for Brian O’Driscoll the sole Cork change for Dublin showdown

Fourteen of the starters from the Rebels’ 4-11 to 0-19 semi-final win against Donegal are included, with captain Michael Shields having recovered from a groin problem. O’Driscoll suffered a hamstring injury in divisional side Carbery’s county SFC defeat to UCC last week so is unable to start.

His place is taken by O’Sullivan, who was due to start against Donegal only to be replaced by Clonakilty’s Tom Clancy shortly before throw-in. O’Sullivan is named at number 5 with Bishopstown clubmate Conor Dorman switching to centre-back.

Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh clubman O’Driscoll is named among the substitutes, however Donncha O’Connor hasn’t made it back to full fitness following a toe injury. None of Ian Maguire, Ruairí Deane or Patrick Kelly were considered for selection either as they work their way back to fitness.

Nine of the Cork team started in last year’s semi-final defeat to Dublin, though O’Connor and Kelly also played while Paul Kerrigan and Daniel Goulding, who started too, are substitutes for Sunday. There are just four surviving starters from the 2011 final win against the Dubs while captain Michael Shields is the only player selected to start the 2010 All-Ireland semi-final against them though Eoin Caodgan, Fintan Goold and Colm O’Neill did come off the bench that day.

Tomorrow night, the Cork senior hurlers face Kilkenny in a challenge game in Páirc Uí Rinn (7pm), with proceeds going to The Friends of Jamie Wall.

Wall was a dual county minor and U21 player and won a Munster intermediate hurling medal last summer but the Kilbrittain man was left paralysed from the waist down soon after that. A strong fundraising effort has been undertaken to help him walk and play again and a big crowd is expected, with tickets available at local Centra and SuperValu outlets.

Of the side which beat Dublin in last week’s league semi-final, goalkeeper Anthony Nash, Shane O’Neill, William Kearney, Mark Ellis and Bill Cooper remain as starters but the majority of the rest have been named as substitutes.

CORK (SF v Dublin):

K O’Halloran (Bishopstown); Tom Clancy (Clonakilty), M Shields (St Finbarr’s), J Loughrey (Mallow); J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), C Dorman (Bishopstown), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy); E Cadogan (Douglas), F Goold (Macroom); K O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), C O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh); C O’Neill (Ballyclough), M Collins (Castlehaven), B Hurley (Castlehaven). Subs: P O’Shea (St Vincent’s), S O’Donoghue (Ballincollig), N Galvin (Ballincollig), S Cronin (Nemo Rangers), Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), D Goulding (Éire Óg), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), D Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa), J Hayes (Carbery Rangers), Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers).

CORK (SH v Kilkenny):

A Nash (Kanturk); S O’Neill (Bishopstown), A Ryan (Midleton), W Kearney (Sarsfields); B O’Sullivan (Fermoy), M Ellis (Millstreet), K Burke (Midleton); B Lawton (Castlemartyr), Andy Walsh (Killeagh); P Cronin (Bishopstown), B Cooper (Youghal), D McCarthy (Ballymartle); J Coughlan (Newtownshandrum), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), S Moylan (Douglas). Subs: P Collins (Ballinhassig), D Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), S McDonnell (Glen Rovers), L MacLoughlin (Kanturk), C Murphy (Mallow), Aidan Walsh (Kanturk), C Lehane (Midleton), S Harnedy (St Ita’s), P Horgan (Glen Rovers), A Spillane (Castlelyons), L O’Farrell (Midleton), A Cadogan (Douglas), R O’Shea (Carrigaline), J Cronin (Lisgoold).

ARMAGH (FL v Fermanagh):

N Geoghegan; A Mallon, C Vernon, M Murray; J Morgan, F Moriarty, M Shields; C McKeever, A Findon; T Kernan, M McKenna, A Forker; E Rafferty, A Murnin, J Clarke.

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballJamie O’SullivanBrian O’DriscollPlace: Croke ParkPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPlace: BishopstownPerson: Jamie OPerson: SullivanPerson: BrianPerson: DriscollPerson: JamiePerson: Michael ShieldsPerson: O’DriscollPerson: O’SullivanPerson: Tom ClancyPerson: Conor DormanPerson: Tadhg Mac CárthaighPerson: Donncha O’ConnorPerson: Ian MaguirePerson: Ruairi DeanePerson: Patrick KellyPerson: O’ConnorPerson: KellyPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: Daniel GouldingPerson: Eoin CaodganPerson: Fintan GooldPerson: Colm O’NeillPerson: Jamie WallPerson: Anthony NashPerson: Shane O’NeillPerson: William KearneyPerson: Mark EllisPerson: Bill CooperPerson: K O’HalloranPerson: M ShieldsPerson: J LoughreyPerson: J O’SullivanPerson: C DormanPerson: Tomás ClancyPerson: E CadoganPerson: DouglasPerson: F GooldPerson: MacroomPerson: K O’DriscollPerson: Mac CarthaighPerson: J O’RourkePerson: C O’DriscollPerson: C O’NeillPerson: M CollinsPerson: B HurleyPerson: P O’SheaPerson: S O’DonoghuePerson: N GalvinPerson: S CroninPerson: Brian O’DriscollPerson: D GouldingPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: P KerriganPerson: D Óg HodnettPerson: O’Donovan RossaPerson: J HayesPerson: Barry O’DriscollPerson: S O’NeillPerson: A RyanPerson: W KearneyPerson: B O’SullivanPerson: M EllisPerson: K BurkePerson: B LawtonPerson: Andy WalshPerson: KilleaghPerson: P CroninPerson: B CooperPerson: YoughalPerson: D McCarthyPerson: J CoughlanPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: CloynePerson: S MoylanPerson: P CollinsPerson: D CahalanePerson: S McDonnellPerson: L MacLoughlinPerson: C MurphyPerson: MallowPerson: Aidan WalshPerson: C LehanePerson: S HarnedyPerson: P HorganPerson: A SpillanePerson: L O’FarrellPerson: MidletonPerson: A CadoganPerson: R O’SheaPerson: CarrigalinePerson: J CroninPerson: N GeogheganPerson: A MallonPerson: C VernonPerson: M MurrayPerson: J MorganPerson: F MoriartyPerson: C McKeeverPerson: A FindonPerson: T KernanPerson: M McKennaPerson: A ForkerPerson: E RaffertyPerson: A MurninPerson: J ClarkeEvent: Allianz Football League Division 1Event: 2010 All-Ireland semi-Event: MunsterOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: SFCOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: DubsOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: SuperValuOrganisation: SFOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: St Vincent’sOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: SHOrganisation: SarsfieldsOrganisation: MillstreetOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: CastlemartyrOrganisation: BallymartleOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: St Ita’sOrganisation: CastlelyonsOrganisation: Fermanagh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.248 s