Cork ring changes for Donegal

As expected, Cork have made wholesale changes for Sunday’s Division 1 semi-final against Donegal from the team that beat Derry last Sunday.

In all, Brian Cuthbert has made seven personnel switches with the side more reflective of the line-up that beat Mayo in Páirc Uí Rinn the previous weekend. Jamie O’Sullivan, James Loughrey, Brian O’Driscoll, Eoin Cadogan, Fintan Goold, Colm O’Neill and Brian Hurley all return to the team.

Mark Collins will wear No14 although he has been operating in midfield where Cadogan and Goold are selected to start for the first time since beating Tyrone last month. As they were against Mayo, the three O’Driscoll brothers are again chosen, Brian having led Cork’s U21s in last night’s Munster final defeat against Tipperary. Tom Clancy is named on the bench after recovering from a hamstring injury.

Monaghan last night named the same team that went down by 11 points to Dublin last Sunday as they lock horns with the defending champions for the second time in seven days.

Both games carry the facility of extra-time and a yellow card will not carry into the additional periods as per the new playing rules, which will come into operation from tomorrow.

For both football and hurling, a yellow card picked up in normal time will be wiped clean in extra-time, while referees can now consult with neutral linesmen about the validity of a score. Also in football, should a defending player foul at a penalty kick situation before the ball is kicked and a goal is not scored, the referee shall give the penalty taker the option of retaking the penalty or allowing a point to stand.

The one-versus-one penalty and one-versus-three 20 metre frees in hurling will also come into operation from tomorrow. Both placed shots must still be struck before or on the 20m line. The five-second advantage rule will also come into effect.

Elsewhere, Kerry’s Tipperary-born goalkeeper James Logue has been ruled out of tomorrow’s Division 1B promotion/relegation play-off with Antrim as his club in his native county Ballingarry are also in championship action on Saturday evening.

Stephen Murphy replaces Logue, who is still named on the bench.

CORK (SF v Donegal):

K O’Halloran (Bishopstown); J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), M Shields (St Finbarr’s), J Loughrey (Mallow); C Dorman (Bishopstown), Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCartaigh), T Clancy (Fermoy); E Cadogan (Douglas), F Goold (Macroom); C O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), K O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh); C O’Neill (Ballyclough), M Collins (Castlehaven), B Hurley (Castlehaven). Subs: P O’Shea (St Vincent’s), T Clancy (Clonakilty), N Galvin (Ballincollig), S O’Donoghue (Ballincollig), D O’Connor (Ballydesmond), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), D Goulding (Éire Óg), J Hayes (Carbery Rangers), D Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa), Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers).

MONAGHAN (SF v Dublin):

R Beggan (Scotstown); K Duffy (Latton), D Wylie (Ballybay), R Wylie (Ballybay); F Kelly (Clones), V Corey (Clontibret), K O’Connell (Tyholland); N McAdam (Monaghan Harps), D Hughes (Scotstown); D Mone (Clontibret), P Finlay (Ballybay), O Duffy (Latton); D Malone (Castleblayney Faughs), K Hughes (Scotstown), C McManus (Clontibret). Subs: E Duffy (Drumhowan), J McCarron (Truagh Gaels), P McGuigan (Cremartin), R McAnespie (Emyvale), P McKenna (Truagh Gaels), D Clerkin (Currin), G Doogan (Magheracloone Mitchells), T Kerr (Ballybay), S Carey (Scotstown), S Gollogly (Carrickmacross), D McKenna (Truagh Gaels).

KERRY (SH v Antrim):

S Murphy (Causeway); D Fitzell (Kilmoyley), P Costelloe (Ballyduff), B Murphy (Causeway); S Weir (Crotta O’Neills), D Dineen (St Brendans), D Collins (Kilmoyley); J Griffin (Lixnaw), P Kelly (Clarecastle); M O’Leary (Abbeydorney), S Nolan (Crotta O’Neills), C Harty (Causeway); M Boyle (Ballyduff), P Boyle (Ballyduff), K Carmody (Causeway). Subs: J Logue (Ballingarry), T Casey (Causeway), J Egan (St Brendans), J Flaherty (Lixnaw), R Horgan (St Brendans), P Lucid (Ballyheigue), G O’Grady (Ballyduff), B O’Leary (Abbeydorney), A Royle (Kilmoyley), D Shanahan (Lixnaw), D Butler (Knockavilla Kickhams).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPlace: TipperaryPlace: BallingarryPlace: CausewayPerson: Brian CuthbertPerson: Jamie O’SullivanPerson: James LoughreyPerson: Brian O’DriscollPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Fintan GooldPerson: Colm O’NeillPerson: Brian HurleyPerson: Mark CollinsPerson: CadoganPerson: GooldPerson: O’DriscollPerson: BrianPerson: Tom ClancyPerson: KerryPerson: James LoguePerson: Stephen MurphyPerson: LoguePerson: K O’HalloranPerson: J O’SullivanPerson: M ShieldsPerson: J LoughreyPerson: C DormanPerson: Tadhg MacCartaighPerson: T ClancyPerson: E CadoganPerson: DouglasPerson: F GooldPerson: MacroomPerson: C O’DriscollPerson: Tadhg MacCarthaighPerson: J O’RourkePerson: K O’DriscollPerson: C O’NeillPerson: M CollinsPerson: B HurleyPerson: P O’SheaPerson: N GalvinPerson: S O’DonoghuePerson: D O’ConnorPerson: P KerriganPerson: D GouldingPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: J HayesPerson: D HodnettPerson: O’Donovan RossaPerson: Barry O’DriscollPerson: MonaghanPerson: R BegganPerson: K DuffyPerson: D WyliePerson: BallybayPerson: R WyliePerson: F KellyPerson: ClonesPerson: V CoreyPerson: ClontibretPerson: K O’ConnellPerson: N McAdamPerson: D HughesPerson: D MonePerson: P FinlayPerson: O DuffyPerson: LattonPerson: D MalonePerson: Castleblayney FaughsPerson: K HughesPerson: C McManusPerson: E DuffyPerson: DrumhowanPerson: J McCarronPerson: P McGuiganPerson: R McAnespiePerson: EmyvalePerson: P McKennaPerson: Truagh GaelsPerson: D ClerkinPerson: CurrinPerson: G DooganPerson: Magheracloone MitchellsPerson: T KerrPerson: S CareyPerson: S GolloglyPerson: D McKennaPerson: GaelsPerson: S MurphyPerson: D FitzellPerson: KilmoyleyPerson: P CostelloePerson: BallyduffPerson: B MurphyPerson: CausewayPerson: S WeirPerson: Crotta O’NeillsPerson: D DineenPerson: St BrendansPerson: D CollinsPerson: J GriffinPerson: LixnawPerson: P KellyPerson: ClarecastlePerson: M O’LearyPerson: AbbeydorneyPerson: S NolanPerson: C HartyPerson: M BoylePerson: P BoylePerson: K CarmodyPerson: J LoguePerson: BallingarryPerson: T CaseyPerson: J EganPerson: J FlahertyPerson: R HorganPerson: P LucidPerson: BallyheiguePerson: G O’GradyPerson: B O’LearyPerson: A RoylePerson: D ShanahanPerson: D ButlerPerson: Knockavilla KickhamsEvent: MunsterOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: SFOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: MallowOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: FermoyOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: BallycloughOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: St Vincent’sOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: BallydesmondOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: ScotstownOrganisation: TyhollandOrganisation: Monaghan HarpsOrganisation: Truagh GaelsOrganisation: Cremartin
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd