London steal it over Wicklow with late goals

Wicklow 0-12 London 2-08: We came, we saw, we conquered – could well sum up Paul Goggins’ feelings as he left Baltinglass on Sunday evening.

London steal it over Wicklow with late goals

Dubliner Johnny McGee has taken Wicklow through a most disappointing campaign in the NFL but as he headed into this final match he was still hoping to end on a winning note.

It was not to be. While Wicklow led by 0-5 to 0-4 at half-time and had extended that to a three-point lead at the three-quarter stage, the exiles struck with late goals from Martin Carroll and Alan O’Hara to snatch a deserved victory, O’Hara’s winner capping a man-of-the-match display.

Scorers for London: A O’Hara (1-3); M Carroll (1-0); S Conroy (0-2f); L Mulvey (0-1f); M Gottsche (0-1f); P McGoldrick (0-1).

Scorers for Wicklow: J McGrath (0-6, 0-5f, 0-1 ‘45); P Cronin (0-2); A. McLoughlin, C Kelly, D Healy, M. Mangan (0-1 each).

LONDON: D. Traynor, P. Butler, P. Galvin, M. Walsh, D. McGreevy, C. Carty, D. McCarthy, C. Greene, M. Carroll, S. Conroy, M. Gottsche, B. Smith, A O’Hara, L. Mulvey, P. McGoldrick.

Subs for London: J. Finn for S. Conroy (30), A. Moyles for P. McGoldrick (41), B. Kavanagh for D. Traynor (51), S. Devine for P. Butler (B/C 69), S. Buckley for B. Smith (60).

WICKLOW: A. Murphy, P. Cunningham, A. McLoughlin, B. Kennedy, C. Murphy, P. McLoughlin, K. Murphy, D. Woods, D. Healy, M. Kenny, S. Kelly, D. Hayden, P. Cronin, T. Kelly, J. McGrath.

Subs for Wicklow: R. O’Brien for D. Woods (30), P. McWalter for M. Kenny (36), P. Byrne for T. Kelly (50), M Mangan for K. Murphy (52), C French for D. Hayden (60), K Rogers for C. Murphy (67).

Referee: G. McCormack (Dublin)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.