Midleton recover from first loss to dominate Douglas

Having incurred their first loss against Newtownshandrum on St Patrick’s Day, the 2013 county champions responded emphatically, ending up 2-18 to 0-13 winners.

Midleton recover from first loss to dominate Douglas

While both sides were missing intercounty stars, Midleton had sufficient strength in depth and they were able to rely on 1-5 from Séamus O’Farrell and 1-2 from Brian Harnett, while Paudie O’Keeffe scored five points.

Hartnett’s 12th-minute goal helped the Magpies to a 1-10 to 0-7 half-time lead and points on the resumption from Pádraigh O’Shea and Darren Quirke eased them further clear.

O’Farrell’s goal on 40 minutes gave them further breathing space and though Mark O’Connor continued to be accurate from dead balls from Douglas, they were never going to overturn such a deficit.

Also on Saturday, senior new boys Ballyhea got their first win of the campaign, beating Killeagh by 1-18 to 2-14. Dan Landers goaled for Killeagh in the first half, with the half-time score 1-5 to 0-8 and the second half similarly tight.

Eamonn Morrissey netted for Ballyhea while Seán Long got the other Killeagh goal, but ultimately last year’s Premier IHC champions edged it, with Pa O’Callaghan finishing with 12 points, seven from play.

Yesterday, Newtownshandrum made it two wins in a row as they beat Carrigtwohill by 1-16 to 1-13. Having led by 0-7 to 0-5, Newtown got a second-half goal through John Paul King, set up by minor player Kieran Cagney. Cathal Naughton, Ryan Clifford, and James Bowles all weighed in with important points for the north Cork side.

Elsewhere, Glen Rovers inflicted a third defeat on county champions Sarsfields. The final score was 0-18 to 1-10, with Brian Moylan pointing five frees from centre-back for the Glen. Conor Dorris also scored five points and Graham Callanan got three.

In the other game, Bride Rovers beat Youghal by 1-22 to 1-11.

Courcey Rovers made it three wins from three in Division 1 of the IHL as they beat Ballincollig by 3-13 to 0-18, while there Blarney and Meelin also won.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up