Sean O’Donoghue inspires Inniscarra against Macroom

Inniscarra 4-7 Macroom 2-10

The victors lost a couple of influential players during the second half and just hung on as Macroom dominated possession in the final quarter.

Wind assisted, Macroom led 1-3 to 0-1 after eight minutes following a terrific goal from Alan Quinn. But the Inniscarra response was swift and decisive with three goals in a seven sensational minutes.

O’Donoghue was creator in chief for the first setting up Tomás O’Connor for the perfect response within 60 seconds of Quinn’s strike.

Two minutes later Sean Lynch fed Dave Barry for a goal and the hat-trick of strikes was completed when Stephen Dorman pounced on a defensive error.

Macroom fought back with excellent points from Chris Foskett, Don Creedon and their talisman John Murphy as Inniscarra led by 3-5 to 1-7 at the break. The winners made a perfect start to the second half when O’Donoghue goaled to extend their advantage. Macroom closed the gap with a brilliant goal from John Murphy and points from Murphy, David Horgan (free), and Don Creedon which left two between the sides with five minutes remaining. But Inniscarra defended heroically and lifted the siege with a converted free from man-of-the-match O’Donoghue. It was only their second title at this grade since the competition commenced in 1963.

Scorers for Inniscarra: S O’Donoghue 1-2 (1f), T O’Connor 1-2, S Dornan 1-1, D Barry 1-0, L Collins, S Lynch 0-1 each.

Scorers for Macroom: J Murphy 1-4, A Quinn 1-1, D Horgan 0-2 (2f), D Creedon 0-2, C Foskett 0-1.

INNISCARRA: J Walsh; C Griffin, K O’Herlihy, B Gould; S Dornan, J O’Dwyer, S Lynch; J Roche, A O’Raw; L Collins, S O’Donoghue, D O’Keeffe; S Lynch, T O’Connor, D Barry.

Subs: A O’Raw for J Roche (ht), D Hyland for P Farmer (inj, 35), C Browne for D Hyland (b/card), J Hayes for D Barry (50).

MACROOM: D Kiely; K O’Dwyer, B Healy, A Ryan; B McMahon, E Quinlan, O O’Mahony; D Horgan, R Downey; B O’Sullivan, J Murphy, B O’Gorman; D Creedon, A Quinn, C Foskett.

Subs: D McKenna for B O’Sullivan (ht), P Lucey for C Foskett.

Referee: P O’Leary (Kilmurry).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up