Seamount College set sights on camogie double after defeat of St Flannan's

Seamount College, Kinvara 1-5 St Flannan’s College, Ennis 0-6

Seamount College set sights on camogie double after defeat of St Flannan's

A crossfield gale dominated proceedings with all but one score coming from placed balls and it was St Flannan’s who settled quicker with four Sinead Quinn frees ensuring a 0-4 to 0-1 advantage by the 23rd minute. The game would turn dramatically just before the break though when Seamount’s Katie McMahon was brought down for a penalty that Carrie Dolan converted to leave the sides level at the break (0-4 to 1-1).

It would prove an inspirational score for Seamount who hit the ground running on the restart to add four unanswered points, three from Dolan placed balls, to hold a commanding 1-5 to 1-1 advantage entering the final quarter.

St Flannan’s simply had to go for broke and were rewarded when Amy O’Brien was hauled down for a penalty. However, Emma O’Connell’s powerful effort was saved by Amy Helebert.

Sinead Quinn pointed two late frees for the back-to-back Munster champions but Seamount held on for a first All-Ireland crown, with the Junior B version to come against St Joseph’s Tulla on Saturday.

In the B final, Gorey Community School beat Holy Rosary, Mountbellew by 2-6 to 1-3. Hayley Murphy, and a granite strong defence, were the major differences between two evenly-matched teams who played out an entertaining, breathless battle.

The C decider was won by St Dominic’s College as they just got the better of Sacred Heart Secondary School, Clonakilty by 2-6 to 1-6 in Nenagh. Two second-half goals from Ciara Glynn secured the honours for the Cabra team, with the second coming in the closing minutes to deny the West Cork side, who had hit the front thanks to Claire Sexton’s 50th minute goal.

Coláiste na Phiarsaigh, Glanmire annexed the D title, winning 1-9 to 1-7 against Loreto High School in Nenagh.

Scorers for Seamount College: C Dolan 1-4 (1-0 Pen, 0-4f), C Walsh 0-1

Scorer for St Flannan’s College: S Quinn 0-6f

SEAMOUNT COLLEGE, KINVARA: A Helebert; N Murphy, E Stafford, S Connolly; L Helebert, E Helebert, T Bermingham; N Keane, C Murphy; J O’Dea, C Dolan, D Walshe; K McMahon, C Walsh, R Helebert

Sub: C Keane for R Helebert (56)

ST FLANNAN’S COLLEGE, ENNIS: D Murphy; A Malone, E O’Connell, C Browne; L Brown, A Keane, C Devitt; S Quinn, L Browne; Z McInerney, C Taaffe, A Malone; L Ryan, L McGuane, A O’Brien

Subs: A Wiley for Taaffe (HT), C McMahon for McGuane (50)

Referee: G Browne (Tipperary)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up