Jimmy Barry-Murphy makes three changes as Cork ready for Clare clash

There are three changes to the Cork senior hurling side for tomorrow night’s Allianz Hurling Division 1A clash with Clare in Páirc Uí Rinn.

Jimmy Barry-Murphy makes three changes as Cork ready for Clare clash

Having lost at home to Kilkenny in their opening game last Saturday, Jimmy Barry-Murphy and his selectors have opted against sweeping changes, though Luke O’Farrell’s goal against the Cats means that he has played his way on to the side.

The Midleton man is chosen at full-forward in a direct swap with Paudie O’Sullivan, while Bill Cooper’s broken toe means that he misses out and Robert O’Shea comes into the half-forward line in his place. Lorcán McLoughlin is picked at right half-back with Pa Cronin the player to make way as McLoughlin’s Kanturk clubmate Aidan Walsh moves to midfield to partner Daniel Kearney.

Meanwhile Tipperary manager Peter Creedon has been slapped with a one-match touchline ban for his recent criticism of referee David Coldrick.

Creedon launched a strong verbal attack on the Meath official following Tipp’s one-point defeat by Armagh at the Athletic Grounds on the opening weekend of the league. Coldrick sent off Tipp defender Robbie Kiely and the visitors were aggrieved by the amount of stoppage time played at the end of the Division 3 clash. Creedon stated afterwards Coldrick endured a “howler”. GAA chiefs have ruled Creedon’s comments were of a derogatory nature and the Cork native was found to have brought the game into disrepute. Creedon will now sit out Tipp’s visit to Fermanagh on March 1.

CORK (NHL v Clare): A Nash (Kanturk); D Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), C O’Sullivan (Sarsfields); L McLoughlin (Kanturk), M Ellis (Millstreet), C Murphy (Mallow); D Kearney (Sarsfields), A Walsh (Kanturk); C Lehane (Midleton), S Harnedy (St Ita’s), R O’Shea (Carrigaline); A Cadogan (Douglas), L O’Farrell (Midleton), P Horgan (Glen Rovers).

Subs: P Collins (Ballinhassig), S O’Neill (Bishopstown), K Burke (Midleton), B O’Sullivan (Fermoy), P Cronin (Bishopstown), C McCarthy (Sarsfields), B Lawton (Castlemartyr), S Moylan (Douglas), P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), D McCarthy (Ballymartle), A Spillane (Castlelyons).

KERRY (NHL v Wicklow): J Logue (Ballingarry, Tipperary); D Fitzell (Kilmoyley), P Kelly (Clarecastle, Clare), P Costelloe (Ballyduff); D Shanahan (Lixnaw), B Murphy (Causeway), T Casey (Causeway); J Griffin (Lixnaw), P Lucid (Ballyheigue); S Nolan (Crotta O’Neills), S Weir (Crotta O’Neills), A Royle (Kilmoyley); M Boyle (Ballyduff), M O’Leary (Abbeydorney), K Carmody (Causeway).

Subs: S Murphy (Causeway), P Boyle (Ballyduff), R Heffernan (Lixnaw), A Fealy (Causeway), J Flaherty (Lixnaw), C Harty (Causeway), P McGrath (Causeway), G O’Grady (Ballyduff), B O’Leary (Abbeydorney).

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingcorkclareplace: midletonplace: corkplace: fermanaghplace: tipperaryperson: jimmy barry-murphyperson: luke o’farrellperson: paudie o’sullivanperson: bill cooperperson: robert o’sheaperson: lorcan mcloughlinperson: pa croninperson: mcloughlinperson: aidan walshperson: daniel kearneyperson: peter creedonperson: david coldrickperson: creedonperson: coldrickperson: robbie kielyperson: corkperson: a nashperson: d cahalaneperson: c joyceperson: na piarsaighperson: c o’sullivanperson: l mcloughlinperson: m ellisperson: c murphyperson: d kearneyperson: a walshperson: c lehaneperson: s harnedyperson: r o’sheaperson: a cadoganperson: douglasperson: l o’farrellperson: p horganperson: p collinsperson: s o’neillperson: k burkeperson: midletonperson: b o’sullivanperson: p croninperson: c mccarthyperson: b lawtonperson: s moylanperson: p o’sullivanperson: cloyneperson: d mccarthyperson: a spillaneperson: kerryperson: j logueperson: ballingarryperson: d fitzellperson: kilmoyleyperson: p kellyperson: clarecastleperson: clareperson: p costelloeperson: ballyduffperson: d shanahanperson: lixnawperson: b murphyperson: causewayperson: t caseyperson: j griffinperson: p lucidperson: ballyheigueperson: s nolanperson: crotta o’neillsperson: s weirperson: a royleperson: m boyleperson: m o’learyperson: abbeydorneyperson: k carmodyperson: s murphyperson: p boyleperson: r heffernanperson: a fealyperson: j flahertyperson: c hartyperson: p mcgrathperson: g o’gradyperson: b o’learyorganisation: corkorganisation: clareorganisation: allianzorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: catsorganisation: tipporganisation: armaghorganisation: gaaorganisation: nhlorganisation: kanturkorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: sarsfieldsorganisation: millstreetorganisation: malloworganisation: st ita’sorganisation: glenorganisation: ballinhassigorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: castlemartyrorganisation: ballymartleorganisation: castlelyonsorganisation: wicklow
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up