Waterford delegates back one v one hurling penalty plan

Waterford delegates are set to support the one-on-one penalty motion put forward by the Hurling 2020 committee at GAA Congress in Cavan later this month.

Clubs voted in favour of the proposal at a specially convened board meeting in Dungarvan this week.

“If a goal chance is prevented, you have to give the advantage to the attacking team,” said Neil Moore of Abbeyside/Ballinacourty.

Chairman Paddy Joe Ryan also agreed with the motion. Central Council delegate Tommy Hennessy had reservations over the ruling and cited David Reidy’s two successful penalties in the hurling league game against Waterford last weekend.

The Déise will back another suggestion from the Hurling 2020 body to implement the five-second advantage rule in hurling. Club representatives turned down the recommendation for three defenders to face a 20-metre free, however.

After a lengthy debate, the motion for the concussion substitute was passed by a small margin. A temporary replacement will be permitted on the direction of the referee along similar lines to the current blood sub rule. Secretary Timmy O’Keeffe concurred with the spirit of the rule but argued qualified referees and medical staff wouldn’t be available at every club game to diagnose concussion.

Former All-Ireland final referee Michael Wadding spoke strongly in favour of the motion. “What is going to happen is that referees are going to be trained accordingly... the referee will make the decision that the player be treated, like in rugby.”

Chairman Paddy Joe Ryan also stated at the meeting that the hooter is “completely unworkable” and agrees with the Central Council move to disband the system ahead of this summer’s championship. The motion requires a two thirds majority at Congress.

Meanwhile, Wexford have made two changes to their side for Sunday’s Allianz Hurling Division 1B clash with Offaly at O’Connor Park in Tullamore (2pm). From the team which started the win over Antrim last weekend, Tomás Waters and Kevin Foley are replaced by Liam Ryan and captain Matthew O’Hanlon, who slot into the full-back line alongside Ciarán Kenny.

WEXFORD (NHL v Offaly): M Fanning (Glynn-Barntown); L Ryan (Rapparees), M O’Hanlon (St James), C Kenny (Buffers Alley); P Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn), L Chin (Faythe Harriers), E Moore (Oulart-The-Ballagh); D Redmond (Oulart), G Sinnott (Oulart); I Byrne (Ferns St Aidan’s), D Waters (St Martin’s), D O’Keeffe (St Anne’s); P Morris (Ferns St Aidan’s), J Guiney (Rathnure), L Óg McGovern (St Anne’s).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd