Killenaule hold Doon rally

Munster Club JBHC final: Killenaule (Tipperary) 2-11 Doon (Limerick) 1-13: Killenaule claimed the Munster JBHC title after withstanding a late Doon rally in Raheengh.

Two first half goals proved crucial for the victors — with efforts from Billy Barrett and Martin Fennelly helping them to lead 2-6 to 0-7 at the break.

After a tit-for-tat restart, Doon picked up the effort to draw a run of frees but could never shave the gap below three. After Ger Beary’s goal attempt from a 25 metre free sailed wide, sub Dominic Blake gave the Tipperary men the insurance point deep into injury time that saved them despite Kevin Lenihan bundling to the net after Robbie McLoughlin’s shot had been saved.

Scorers for Killenaule: B Barrett 1-4 (0-1 f), M Fennelly 1-0, A Walsh, D Blake 0-2 each, T Stakelum, J Gleeson (free), P Doyle 0-1 each.

Scorers for Doon: G Beary 0-8 (7f), K Lenihan 1-1, B Crowe, D Ryan, C Maher, T Hayes (f) 0-1 each.

DOON: P Coleman; J Stokes, J Fox, S Brennan; E Ryan, T Hayes, D Cummins; J O’Brien, C Maher; B Crowe, Séamie Ryan, G Beary; D Ryan, K Lenihan, R McLoughlin.

Subs: P Ryan for E Ryan (44m), S Mc Kenna for D Ryan (44m), M Coleman for C Maher (57m), Shane Ryan for J O’Brien (62m).

KILLENAULE: J Gleeson; J Berry, A Leahy, M Fitzgerald; D Ryan, K Cleary, V Hannigan; P O’Connor, T Stakelum; M Fennelly, A Walsh, D Blake; D O’Connor, B Barrett, J Doyle.

Subs: D Taylor for J Doyle (ht), D Tobin for A Walsh (55 mins), P Doyle for D O’Connor (55 mins).

Referee: J Healy (Clare).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up