Wicklow hit back in second-half and edge out Leitrim

Allianz FL Division 4 Round 2: Wicklow 0-11 Leitrim 0-10: Wicklow struck with a storming second-half comeback to snatch a one point win over Leitrim in their Division 4 clash at Aughrim yesterday.

The home side were lethargic in the first-half and Leitrim applied most of the pressure as they raced to a nine points lead after 26 minutes with outstanding performances from attackers Donal Wrynn, Fergal Clancy, Kevin Conlan and midfielder James McGrail.

Defenders Alan Byrne and Ross O’Brien were the only Wicklow players providing resistance and John Magee had to switch Mick McLoughlin to full-back to curb a rampant Wrynn, In the last five minutes of the half, Seanie Furlong, Conor McGraynor, Mark Kenny and John McGrath fired over points to narrow the gap to 0-4 to 0-9 at the break and give Wicklow hope.

Then, with a slight wind behind them, Wicklow were transformed in the second- half. Conor McGraynor moved to midfield and played a blinder; Brendan McCrea and Paudge McWalter came off the bench and upped the ante immeasurably.

After a barren 12 minutes Conor McGraynor sparked the comeback with a point from a free. McGrath, Darren Hayden, McCrea landed points and the margin was down to a single point.

McGrath brought Wicklow level with another point from a free on 57 minutes and he gave them the lead a minute later from another placed ball. A good point from Seanie Furlong proved vital to Wicklow in the end, as Kevin Conlon struck his sixth Leitrim point before the end to cut the margin to a single point.

Scorers for Wicklow: J McGrath 0-4 (3f), S Furlong 0-2 (f), C McGraynor 0-2 (f), D Hayden, M Kenny, B McCrea 0-1 each.

Leitrim scorers: K Conlon 0-6 (4f, one 45), J McGrail, D Wrynn F Clancy, M McWeeney 0-1 each.

WICKLOW: R Lambert, C Murphy, P Cunningham, A Byrne, D Healy, R O’Brien, A Murphy, P McLoughlin, A McLoughlin, D Hayden, C McGraynor, M McLoughlin, D Odlum, J McGrath, S Furlong.

Subs: M Kenny for P Cunningham (16m), B McCrea for P McLoughlin (ht), P McWalter for C Murphy, (41m) C Foley for D Odlum (50m), D Woods for M Kenny (64m).

LEITRIM: C McCrann, M McWeeney, R Gallagher, N Woods, C Farrell, G Reynolds, S McWeeney, P McGowan, J McGrail, S Quinn, F Clancy, D Beck, C Gilheaney, D Wrynn, K Conlon.

Subs: C Clinton for S Quinn (38), A McLoughlin for C Gilheaney (43m), D Sweeney for P McGowan (51), S Moran for J McGrail (BC 59m).

Referee: Niall Ward, Westmeath.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up