St Kieran’s find second-half rhythm and beat Kilkenny

St Kieran’s College 1-14 Kilkenny CBS 2-3: Leisnter Post Primary Hurling: A devastating third quarter scoring burst saw All-Ireland champions St Kieran’s College defeat Kilkenny CBS in Saturday’s Leinster Post Primary Schools SHC quarter-final in Nowlan Park.

The losers, despite playing against the wind, held the upper hand for much of the first half and were boosted by Robbie Murphy’s 14th minute goal. A Jason Cleere free ensured St Kieran’s were level at the break (1-3 to 0-6).

But on the restart, St Kieran’s took control in emphatic fashion as points from Joe Connolly, Liam Blanchfield, Michael Cody and Jason Cleere were followed a Richard Leahy goal.

Murphy’s second goal in the 44th minute failed to halt that momentum as fine scores from sub Ray Lahart booked St Kieran’s spot in the last four.

Scorers for St Kieran’s College: J. Connolly (0-4, three frees, one 65); R. Lahart (0-3 frees); J. Cleere (0-3, one free, one 65, one pen); R. Leahy (1-0); E. Walsh, J. Morrissey, L. Blanchfield, M. Cody (0-1 each).

Scorers for Kilkenny CBS: R. Murphy (2-0); A Gaffney (0-2 frees); C Loy (0-1).

ST KIERAN’S COLLEGE: A. Mullen, M. Cody, T. Walsh, J. Barron, J. Cleere, J. Keoghan, E. Walsh, J. Byrne, J. Connolly, R. Leahy, J. Morrissey, B. Ryan, N. Walsh, L. Blanchfield, T. O’Dwyer.

Subs: R. Lahart for N. Walsh; A. Nolan for Keoghan; E. Kearney for R. Leahy; E. Delaney for T. O’Dwyer.

KILKENNY CBS: J. Byrne, J. Lawlor, D. Doheny, K. Galvin, C. McGrath, C. Doheny, M. Drennan, C. Kavanagh, G. Bryan, C. Loy, L. Scanlon, R. Butler, A. Gaffney, C. Fitzpatrick, R. Murphy.

Subs: B. Sheehan for Loy; A. Phelan for C. McGrath; S. Mahony for Fitzpatrick; S. Bolger for Bryan; J. Scanlon for Gaffney.

Referee: A Stapleton (Laois).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.