Cavan late show holds Roscommon

Roscommon 1-11 Cavan 0-14: Allianz Football League Division 2: Roscommon manager John Evans felt opening day nerves got the better of his side as the home team were pegged back by Cavan at Kiltoom.

Donie Smith’s well-worked score seemed to have won the game for the Rossies in the 69th minute but Martin Reilly’s sweetly-struck 45 in the third minute of injury-time rescued a deserved point for the Breffni men.

In a tight first half, the goal Cavan threatening arrived in the 12th minute when Senan Kilbride unselfishly squared for Cathal Cregg to score.

Points from Reilly, Dunne (a free) and Dara McVeety pared the margin back to a point before the Murtagh brothers kicked three scores between them to leave Roscommon 1-5 to 0-4 to the good after 29 minutes.

Another Dunne free was followed by a point from McVeety before half-time to leave Terry Hyland’s side two points behind at the break.

Roscommon held the upper hand on the scoreboard thanks to early points from Enda Smith and Ciarán Murtagh. But Gearoid McKiernan kicked four sublime scores from play to leave the game in the balance. The home side created a couple of decent chances but Cavan keeper Conor Gilsenan denied Enda Smith and Diarmuid Murtagh.

Roscommon were two to the good when sub Barry Reilly and Martin Reilly levelled the match. Smith looked to have won it for Roscommon but Reilly earned the draw.

Scorers for Roscommon: D Murtagh (0-5, 4f), C. Murtagh (0-4, 2f), C. Cregg (1-0), E Smith, D Smith (0-1).

Scorers for Cavan: G McKiernan (0-4), M Dunne (3f), M Reilly (1 ‘45) (0-3 each), D McVeety, B Reilly (0-2).

ROSCOMMON: D. O’Malley; S. McDermott, N. Carty, N. Collins; R. Stack, N. Daly, C. Cafferky; M. Healy, C. Shine; M. Nally, E. Smith, C. Cregg; C. Murtagh, S. Kilbride, D. Murtagh.

Subs: U. Harney for Cregg (h/t), C. Daly for Cafferky (44), D. Smith for C. Murtagh (61), D. Murray for Carty (61), I. Kilbride for Nally (64).

CAVAN: C. Gilsenan; J. McLoughlin, R. Dunne, K. Brady; F. Flanagan, D. O’Reilly, R. Flanagan; K. Clarke, G. McKiernan; M. Reilly, D. McVeety, M. McKeever; M. Lyng, M. Dunne, N. McDermott.

Subs: J. Hayes for K. Brady (h/t), B. Reilly for McKeever (h/t), J. Brady for Lyng (64), T. Corr for Dunne (64).

Referee: Michael Duffy (Sligo).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up