Sligo in tough battle to see off Leitrim

Connacht FBD League

Sligo registered a hard-earned two point win over champions Leitrim at Markievicz Park yesterday in the final round of the FBD Connacht Senior Football League.

The side were level 0-5 apiece at the break but Sligo goaled twice on the restart.

Scorers for Sligo: A Marren 1-4 (0-1f), M Breheny 0-3 (1f), P Hughes 1-0, N Murphy, K Sweeney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Leitrim: K Conlon 0-7 (5f, 1 45’), R Kennedy 1-0, C Gilheaney, A McLoughlin, B Prior 0-1 each

SLIGO: A Devaney, E Flanagan, R Donovan, D Maye, C Kerins, N Gaughan, S Stenson, S Gilmartin, P Hughes, N Ewing, M Breheny, C Harrison, N Murphy, A Marren, P Clarke.

Subs: K Sweeney for Clarke (h-t), K Cawley for Kerins (46), B O’Mahony for Ewing (53), L Bree for Stenson (53), D O’Boyle for Gilmartin (57), N McDonagh for Harrison (57).

LEITRIM: B Flynn, M Murphy, R Gallagher, D Keane, B Prior, G Reynolds, S McWeeney, P McGowan, C McCrann, C McGowan, F Clancy, D Beck, C Gilheaney, R Kennedy, K Conlon.

Subs: A McLoughlin for Gilheaney (11), J McGrail for McCrann (33), R Lowe for Beck (40), D Wrynne for McGowan (46), S Moran for Clancy (48)

Referee: L Devenney (Mayo).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up