Hungry Beale end 25-year famine

Beale 0-11 Listowel Emmets 0-10: Beale ended a 25 year famine when they defeated champions Listowel Emmets in Saturday’s North Kerry SFC final at O’Rahilly Park, Ballylongford.

Hungry Beale end 25-year famine

Beale looked the fresher side and their hunger was evident over the hour. Their defence was outstanding with Jeremy King, Neilus Mulvihill and Paul Collins in tremendous form. And credit also must go to goalkeeper Sean Dee for two superb saves in each half.

Listowel led 0-3 to 0-1 after 14 minutes with Bryan Murphy and Conor Cox (2) and target while Ger O’Gorman replied with a free for Beale.

Then came a defining moment in the game, when Cox raced through but Dee saved a certain goal with his leg.

Ian Mannix gave Beale a 24th minute lead, after good work by Shane Joy, however three Cox points (0-2 frees) saw Listowel leading 0-6 to 0-4 at half time.

Beale quickly were back level but three unanswered points, two from David Sheehy appeared to edge Listowel towards the title with a 0-9 to 0-6 lead by the 40th minute.

However Beale were to dominate the rest of the game, as Listowel struggled without Noel Kennelly.

Points from O’Gorman, Mannix and Barry O Mahony, levelled the contest and than points by Shane Hanrahan and Shane Joy, gave Beale a two point cushion.

There was still late drama but again Dee came to Beale’s rescue and minutes later the celebrations began in earnest.

Scorers for Beale: G O’Gorman 0-5 frees, I Mannix 0-2, J McMahon, B O Mahony, S Hanrahan and S Joy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Listowel Emmets: C Cox 0-6 (0-4 frees), D Sheehy and B Murphy 0-2 each.

BEALE: S Dee, P Blake, C Kissane, N Mulvihill, S Joy, P Collins, D Ellis, J King, P Murphy, D Bambury, J McMahon , A O’Connell, I Mannix , G O’Gorman, B O’Mahony .

Subs: J Griffin for Ellis, S Hanrahan for O’Connell, T Joy for Mannix.

LISTOWEL EMMETS: S Quinn, F Reen, J McGuire, G McCarthy, C Mulvihill, B McGuire, K Kelliher, M Lynch, C Cox , S McCarthy, M Whelan, D Sheehy, B Murphy, N Kennelly, D Keane.

Subs: B Flavin for Whelan, J Barry for Sheehy, B Guiney for Kelliher, M Stack for Kennelly.

Referee: Eddie Barrett (Knocknagoshel).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.