Lorcan Smith stars as Westmeath edge Longford

Westmeath 2-11 Longford 0-10: Two second-half goals helped Westmeath to victory over neighbours Longford in their final O’Byrne Cup group game.

Lorcan Smith stars as Westmeath edge Longford

The home side were in control for large spells but when Lorcan Smith scored Westmeath’s first goal in the 41st minute it turned the game.

Aided by a strong wind Longford made a good start. Two Paul McKeon frees and points from Brian Kavanagh and Barry Gilleran (45) gave them a three-point lead by the 12th minute.

Westmeath’s opening point came from an Alan Coffey free.

Three quick points saw Westmeath level in the 16th minute. McKeon replied with two for Longford (one free) but right before the break Denis Glennon (free) cut the gap to just one point.

Kavanagh (free) restored Longford’s two-point advantage early in the second half but minutes later poor defending allowed Smith grab a goal for Westmeath.

A nice point from Enda Williams levelled matters for Longford but they were dealt a blow in the 50th minute when they conceded another poor goal, Kieran Martin firing past Garrett Higgins.

Kavanagh was unlucky not to score a goal in the 59th minute when his powerful shot rattled the crossbar. Westmeath went down the other end and tagged on five more points with Smith hitting over four points (two frees).

Another Kavanagh free was the final score of the game as Longford fell to another defeat.

Scorers for Westmeath: L Smith 1-4 (2f), K Martin 1-1, A Coffey (2f), G Egan (1f) 0-2 each, D Dolan, D Glennon (1f) 0-1 each.

Longford: P McKeon (3f), B Kavanagh (3f) 0-4 each, E Williams, Gilleran (’45) 0-1 each.

WESTMEATH: K McGuire; J Gilligan, T Mescall (F Boyle 44), J Rock (B Slevin 69); M McCallum, K Maguire, J Dolan; P Sharry, J Stapleton; J Egan (G Egan 57), K Martin, D Dolan (D McCormack 51); A Coffey (J Connellan 57), L Smith, D Glennon.

LONGFORD: G Higgins; D Brady, T Gallagher, K Murray (B Devine ht); CP Smyth, D Masterson, E Williams (S Donohoe 59); B Gilleran, C Quaine; A Rowan, D Cooney (F Battrim 61), P Gill (P Foy ht); S McCormack , B Kavanagh, P McKeon (R McEntire ht).

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up