Mayo finish with a flourish

Mayo 0-15 IT Sligo 0-06: A second successive routine victory kept Mayo on course for a place in the FBD League Final as they overcame IT Sligo in Ballina yesterday.

Mayo finish with a flourish

A strong finish saw the Connacht champions run out comprehensive winners but the students were left to rue a missed penalty by Donegal’s Ryan McHugh in the 36th minute.

Mayo were four points up at that stage (0-8 to 0-4) and McHugh’s miss was a big blow to IT Sligo’s chances.

An experimental Mayo side kicked on from there with Kevin McLoughlin (two), Alan Freeman, Alex Corduff, Peter Dravins and Evan Regan all tagging on scores to wrap up the win.

Mayo had led at half-time by 0-7 to 0-4 with Freeman helping himself to a hat-trick of points.

Mayo now face Roscommon in Castlebar next Sunday.

Scorers for Mayo: A Freeman 0-4, (1f), E Regan 0-3, K McLoughlin 0-3 (1f), A Corduff, M Lyons, P Dravins, M Sweeney, M Ronaldson 0-1 each.

Scorers for IT Sligo: C Clinton 0-4 frees, B Gallagher, R McHugh 0-1 each.

MAYO: D Clarke; K Keane, D Vaughan, S Duffy; M Hall, K Rogers, P Durcan; A Corduff, B Moran; K McLoughlin, M Lyons, P Dravins; E Regan, A Freeman, M Sweeney.

Subs: D McHugh for Keane; C Barrett for Durcan; J Doherty for Hall; J Gibbons for Corduff; M Ronaldson for Sweeney.

IT SLIGO: A McCallig; S Doak, M McWeeney, D McConnon; N Crowe, S McManus, P Varley; S Henry, B Gallagher; R McHugh, E Jordan, C Mulryan; D Quinn, C Thomson, C Clinton.

Subs: T Taylor for Quinn; M Rock for McManus (black card); R Gallagher for McConnon; J Mannion for McCallig.

Referee: Michael Duffy (Sligo).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up