Red-hot Bennettsbridge in control

Leinster Club JHC final: Bennettsbridge (Kilkenny) 1-20 Shamrocks (Offaly) 0-3

Bennettsbridge will be hot favourites to claim the All-Ireland JHC title after crushing Shamrocks in Saturday’s Leinster decider at O’Connor Park.

Trevor Darcy opened the scoring for the Offaly club but thereafter it was one way traffic as the Kilkenny champions took control. Nicky Cleere hit six first-half points and Brian Lannon blasted a close range goal to make it 1-10 to 0-1 at half time. There was no let-off on the restart with Aidan Cleere, Darragh Wafer and William Murphy all on target.

Thirteen wides over the hour will be a source of concern for Bennettsbridge manager Christy Walsh, but it also pointed to their complete domination of possession over the hour’s hurling in Tullamore.

Scorers for Bennettsbridge: N Cleere 0-7 (5f), B Lannon 1-2 (1f), H O’Neill & W Murphy (2f) 0-3 each, D Wafer, S Morrissey, C Wafer, A Cleere & M Shiel 0-1 each.

Scorers for Shamrocks: T Darcy 0-3 (2f).

BENNETTSBRIDGE: E Cleere; S Wemyss, R Lennon, J Moran; J Cleere, E Morrissey, A Cleere; D Wafer, K Blanchfield; C Wafer, S Morrissey, N Cleere; L Blanchfield, B Lannon, H O’Neill.

Subs: M Shiel for K Blanchfield (36), W Murphy for Lannon (39), P O’Neill for Moran (42), S Nolan for E Cleere (45), D Walsh for N Cleere (49).

SHAMROCKS: G Hutchinson; J Conway, C Condron, D O’Toole; J Bryant, P Kelly, C O’Brien; D Heffernan, D Minnock; A Kidney, B Kelly, T Darcy; N Dunne, J O’Toole, G Mooney.

Subs: D Conroy for B Kelly (HT), C Buckley for O’Brien (36), B Tyrell for Kidney (42), P Minnock for Mooney (47), D Condron for Conway (50).

Referee: Danny Harrington (Dublin).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up