Sweeney shines as Moorefield march into last four

Moorefield (Kildare) 0-17 Rathnew (Wicklow) 2-7

Sweeney shines as Moorefield march into last four

Evergreen stalwart Tommy Gill opened for Rathnew with a point in the first minute but then Moorefield stormed 0-6 to 0-1 ahead with scores from Eanna O’Connor (3), Eddie Heavey, Ciaran Kelly and Adam Tyrrell.

Ronan Sweeney played a crucial midfield role for the Kildare men despite wearing the number 14 shirt and he was the fulcrum for most of their attacking moves, while Eanna O’Connor shone from play and placed balls.

But Rathnew were thrown a lifeline with corner-forward Philly Murphy rifling to the net from the edge of the square after Tommy Gill’s punched effort was battled off the line.

Rathnew cut the deficit to a point, 1-3 to 0-7 at half-time but Moorefield again looked to be taking the game by the scruff of the neck after the restart when points by Cian O’Connor, midfielder Cian, Adam Tyrrell, Niall Hurley and a brace by Enan O’Connor stretched their ahead to seven point at the three quarter stage, 0-12 to 1-3.

Rathnew sprang the injured Leighton Glynn, who had fractured his thumb in the county hurling final, from the bench and immediately he fired over a point on 45 minutes.

Five minutes later Tommy Gill picked out Jody Merrigan whose goal cut the gap to four points (2-5 to 0-15).

Glynn, Gill and Jamie Snell were involved in setting up Eddie Doyle for a point and the margin was down to three. But Moorefield were not to be caught.

Points by Daryl Flynn and Eanna O’Connor either side of an Eddie Doyle effort ensured that Moorefield advanced to the last four.

Scorers for Moorefield: E O’Connor 0-7 (2f, three 45s), Adam Tyrrell 0-3 (1f), N Hurley 0-2, R Sweeney, C Kelly, C O’Connor, D Flynn and Eddie Heavey 0-1 each).

Scorers for Rathnew: J Merrigan 1-0, P Murphy 1-0, T Gill (0-3 (2f), D Doyle 0-2 (1f), L Glynn and R O’Brien. 0-1 each.

MOOREFIELD: T Corley, L Callaghan Naughton, L Healy, R Houlihan, K O’Neill, E Heavey, R Glavin, C O’Connor, A Tyrrell, C Kelly, K Murnaghan, E O’Connor, R Sweeney, N. Hurley.

Subs: D Flynn for C O’Connor (40), J Murray for Hurley (53), F Hannify for A Tyrrell (57).

RATHNEW: P. Dignam, P. Merrigan, D Power, J Manley, G Merrigan, R O’Brien, J Snell, J Stafford, A Merriman, E Doyle, T Smith, D Jameson, T Gill, J Merrigan, P. Murphy.

Subs: E Glynn for G Merrigan (ht), L Glynn for P Murphy (45m), S Byrne for D Jameson (50), M Doyle for E Doyle (BC, 61m).

Referee: David Gough, Meath.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd