Gilheany inspires Aughawillan

Aughawillan (Leitrim) 2-12 Tubbercurry (Sligo) 0-13

Gilheany inspires Aughawillan

Brian Morahan’s 46th minute dismissal — which came when the south Sligo side were a point up, 0-11 to 1-7 — proved the turning point.

Tubbercurry, with David Kelly at the hub of their best moves, led 0-4 to 0-1 by the 16th minute but they needed a pointed free from Stephen Matthews to draw level at the break, 0-7 to 1-4, after Aughawillan had goaled from a fine 29th minute move that Rory McTague finished.

Gilheany continued to threaten and his scrappy goal in second-half stoppage time sealed a memorable result for the Leitrim outfit.

Scorers for Aughawillan: Ciarán Gilheany (1-7, 2f), Rory McTague (1-0), Seán Fox (0-2), Stephen Gilheany (0-1), Gary Plunkett (0-1), Pierce Dolan (0-1).

Tubbercurry scorers: Stephen Matthews (0-4, 2f), Colm McGee (0-3, 1f), Cian Killoran (0-2), Steven Kilcoyne (0-2, 1f), David Kelly (0-1), Aidan Brennan (0-1).

AUGHAWILLAN: C Maguire, D McGovern, M Quinn, G McGovern, N Beirne, N Plunkett (c), S Quinn, S Fox, S Flanagan, R McTague, M Plunkett, P Dolan, C Gilheany, G Plunkett, M Quinn

Subs: S Gilheany for N Beirne, 45

TUBBERCURRY: D McDonagh, E Coleman, D Maye, J Kelly, F Cretaro, M Burke, C Surlis, S Gilmartin, A Brennan, B Morahan, D Kelly (c), G Curran, S Kilcoyne, C Killoran, S Matthews

Subs: C McGee for A Brennan, h-t; C Gilmartin for M Burke, h-t; A Brennan for S Gilmartin, 36 (black card); J McDonagh for G Curran, 41; D Kilcoyne for S Matthews, 53; F McDonagh for D Kilcoyne, 54 (black card)

Referee: James Molloy (Galway.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up