Corofin cruise to 16th title

Corofin 5-12 St Michael’s 0-9

Galway SFC final: The bookies rarely get it wrong and the long odds they were offering on St Michael’s creating an upset in their first ever appearance in a Galway SFC final were well justified at Tuam Stadium yesterday.

Two goals in the dying moments added further woe to the city side’s big day out but there was no doubting the superiority of a Corofin side who eased their way to their 16th crown and their 13th in the last 24 years.

Galway player Michael Lundy hit St Michael’s with a crushing blow after just four minutes when he blasted to the net from close range. St Michael’s had made a good start with captain Eddie Hoare scoring an early free, but Corofin took control and won most of the 50-50 battles.

They opened up a 2-7 to 0-1 lead after just 20 minutes, their entire half-back line of Ciarán McGrath, Alan Burke and Liam Silke scoring in that time.

The second goal came from captain Michael Farragher with an excellent low shot to the bottom left corner before he had to go off injured.

St Michael’s never gave up and points from Keith Ward, Neil Grogan and Hoare reduced the margin but there was never any chance of them coming back from an interval deficit of 2-9 to 0-4.

They started the second-half with points from Brian Madden, Eamon Brannigan and Hoare but never looked like getting the goal which might have ignited a comeback.

Instead, Corofin took over again and the Gary Sice set up Lundy for his second goal 12 minutes from time with a quick free.

Lundy, in turn, put Sice through for their fourth goal in the dying moments and the rout was completed in stoppage time when sub Joe Canney finished from close range as Corofin turn their attentions to the Connacht club championship which they have won five times.

“We will enjoy this victory and then next week we will knuckle down for a Connacht championship hopefully,” added Lundy.

“For a lot of us that is our first back-to-back titles. We struggled in the past to retain the title.”

Scorers for Corofin: G Sice 1-5 (3f); M Lundy 2-0; Michael Farragher and J Canney 1-1 each; Ian Burke 1f; A Burke, L Silke, C McGrath and R Steede 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Michael’s: E Hoare 0-5 (2f); K Ward, N Grogan, B Madden and E Brannigan 0-1 each.

COROFIN: T Healy; M Comer, K Fitzgerald, C Silke; L Silke, C McGrath, A Burke; D Burke, R Steede; G Sice, Michael Farragher (capt), K Murphy; Martin Farragher, M Lundy, I Burke.

Subs: J Canney for Michael Farragher (16), A Molloy for I Burke (47 Black); G Higgins for D Burke (49); A Lawless for C Silke (53); C Cunningham for McGrath (54); D Wall for Martin Farragher (57)

ST MICHAEL’S: B Sheridan; K Clancy, D Cunnane; J Hanbury, J Downes, B Madden; F Daly, N Grogan; E O’Donnell, G Rogan, E Brannigan; K Ward, E Hoare, S Connaughton.

Subs: D Connaughton for Hanbury (38); T Curran for Grogan (45); S Hoare for S Connaughton (53); C Tummon for O’Donnell (56); P McTigue for Brannigan (60).

Referee: J Molloy (Salthill).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up