O’Brien delight as St Brigid’s complete ‘drive for five’

St Brigid’s 3-12 St Faithleach’s 0-7

O’Brien delight as St Brigid’s complete ‘drive for five’

Roscommon SFC final: Manager Benny O’Brien hailed his St Brigid’s fifth Roscommon SFC title in succession as the 2013 All-Ireland champions swept St Faithleach’s aside at Dr Hyde Park.

Frankie Dolan produced a Man of the Match display as Brigid’s were rarely troubled in their quest to complete the ‘drive for five’.

“It’s a great achievement for the club, particularly for the people who have worked in the club over the years and have put the effort in to give us the opportunity to compete at this level.

“There was nothing about five-in-a-row in the lead-up to the game. It was all about 2014. We’re delighted to do it. It’s a huge achievement but any day we win the Fahey Cup is absolutely brilliant,” reflected a delighted O’Brien afterwards.

St. Brigid’s played with a strong wind in the opening half and Dolan set the tone with a fine eighth minute goal. By the midway mark, Brigid’s were pretty much home and hosed, having established a 1-7 to 0-1 advantage.

St Faithleach’s enjoyed greater prosperity in the second half but they never looked likely to make inroads. Ciaran Murtagh and Aidan Dooney fired over some good scores but two goals from Senan Kilbride sealed an emphatic triumph for the South Roscommon men who now turn their attention to a Connacht semi-final meeting against Mayo champions Ballintubber.

“It’s tough any time you play the Mayo champions because football in Mayo would be at a higher standard, particularly at intercounty level. It will be a huge challenge to go down to Castlebar and play the Mayo champions.

“It will be a huge ask for this group of players. But we’ll sit down over the next three weeks and have a look at it, and hopefully put a plan in place that will stand us in good stead,” concluded O’Brien.

ST BRIGID’S: S Curran; R Kelly (0-1), D Donnelly (0-1), N McInerney; R Stack, I Kilbride, N Grehan; K Mannion (0-1), P Kelly; A Gleeson, C McHugh, E Egan; P Mulvihill, S Kilbride (2-1), F Dolan (1-8, 3f, 2 ‘45s).

Subs: D Kelleher for Egan (39), G Dolan for Gleeson (39), D Dolan for Mulvihill (53), D Blaine for I Kilbride (53), A McInerney for F Dolan (53 mins), D Sheehy for Kelly (59).

ST FAITHLEACH’S: S O’Connor; D McCormack, G Gunn, D Murray; C Brennan, B Murtagh, K Farrell; H Kenny, S O’Grady; D Hussey, A Dooney (0-2), D Rooney (0-1, 1’45); D Murtagh (0-2, 2f), C Murtagh (0-2), E Kenny.

Subs: C Gannon for Hussey (44 mins), J Mulryan Walsh for E Kenny (49), J Quigley for O’Grady (55, b/c).

Referee: F Keane.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up