Three changes for Cats as Tipp sweat on knocks


Three changes for Cats as Tipp sweat on knocks

Similar to 2012 when he introduced man of the match Walter Walsh out of the blue for the second game against Galway, Richie Power’s younger brother John has been surprisingly drafted into the team, ironically replacing Walsh in the full-forward line.

Brian Hogan also makes way for 2013 All Star nomination Kieran Joyce and Padraic Walsh, who was dropped for the first game having started every Championship game this year, takes Joey Holden’s spot at right-half back.

Power, 22, won an All-Ireland minor title in 2010, also claiming a Leinster U21 medal two years ago and two All-Ireland college crowns with St Kieran’s College in 2009 and ‘10.

Having come on against Galway in the Leinster semi-final replay, the Carrickshock man scored a point as a starter in the final victory over Dublin but was substituted for Aidan Fogarty in the 59th minute. He came on as a late substitute for injured Richie Hogan earlier this month.

Tipperary captain Maher injured his calf in the drawn game and hadn’t trained for at least a week after it, while “Bonner” Maher limped off the field having damaged his quad in a session the Wednesday evening following the match.

Should either be unfit to start, Michael Cahill is likely to start having impressed when being introduced in the September 7 match.

Both Fogarty and Henry Shefflin might count themselves unfortunate not to start in the Kilkenny forward line after being the first alternatives Cody has called on in recent games.

Unlike Walter Walsh or Holden, Brian Hogan wasn’t taken off earlier this month and misses out having started every game since the second Galway match.

His replacement Joyce hasn’t featured since he began the drawn Galway game back in June.

KILKENNY (SHC v Tipperary): E Murphy (Glenmore); P Murphy (Danesfort), JJ Delaney (Fenians), J Tyrrell (Tullaroan); P Walsh (Tullaroan), K Joyce (Rower-Inistioge), K Buckley (Dicksboro); R Hogan (Danesfort), C Fogarty (Erins Own); M Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), C Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), E Larkin (James Stephens); R Power (Carrickshock), TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), J Power (Carrickshock).

Subs: D Herity (Dunnamaggin), B Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels), J Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), B Kennedy (St Lachtains), L Ryan (Clara), T Walsh (Tullaroan), H Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks), A Fogarty (Emeralds), W Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon), M Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels), JJ Farrell (Thomastown).

TIPPERARY (SHC v Kilkenny): D Gleeson (Portroe); C Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), P Stapleton (Borrisoleigh); B Maher (Borrisoleigh), J Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), K Bergin (Killenaule); S McGrath (Ballinahinch), J Woodlock (Drom-Inch); G Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), J O’Dwyer (Killenaule); N McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), S Callanan (Drom-Inch), L Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields).

More in this section

CourtsGaaKilkenny v TipperaryPerson: Brian CodyPerson: BrendanPerson: Patrick "Bonner" MaherPerson: Walter WalshPerson: Richie PowerPerson: JohnPerson: WalshPerson: Brian HoganPerson: Kieran JoycePerson: Padraic WalshPerson: Joey HoldenPerson: PowerPerson: Aidan FogartyPerson: Richie HoganPerson: MaherPerson: Michael CahillPerson: FogartyPerson: Henry ShefflinPerson: CodyPerson: HoldenPerson: JoycePerson: KilkennyPerson: E MurphyPerson: P MurphyPerson: JJ DelaneyPerson: J TyrrellPerson: P WalshPerson: K JoycePerson: Rower-Person: K BuckleyPerson: R HoganPerson: C FogartyPerson: M FennellyPerson: C FennellyPerson: E LarkinPerson: James StephensPerson: R PowerPerson: TJ ReidPerson: J PowerPerson: D HerityPerson: B HoganPerson: J HoldenPerson: B KennedyPerson: L RyanPerson: ClaraPerson: T WalshPerson: TullaroanPerson: H ShefflinPerson: Ballyhale ShamrocksPerson: A FogartyPerson: W WalshPerson: M KellyPerson: JJ FarrellPerson: D GleesonPerson: C BarrettPerson: BallycahillPerson: Pádraic MaherPerson: Thurles SarsfieldsPerson: P StapletonPerson: B MaherPerson: J BarryPerson: DrombanePerson: K BerginPerson: KillenaulePerson: S McGrathPerson: J WoodlockPerson: Drom-InchPerson: G RyanPerson: Templederry KenyonsPerson: Patrick MaherPerson: Lorrha-DorrhaPerson: J O’DwyerPerson: N McGrathPerson: Loughmore-CastleineyPerson: S CallananPerson: L CorbettEvent: All-Ireland SHC finalEvent: All-IrelandOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: St Kieran’s CollegeOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: CarrickshockOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: GlenmoreOrganisation: DanesfortOrganisation: FeniansOrganisation: TullaroanOrganisation: DicksboroOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: Ballyhale ShamrocksOrganisation: EmeraldsOrganisation: O’Loughlin GaelsOrganisation: ThomastownOrganisation: PortroeOrganisation: HolycrossOrganisation: Upperchurch
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.241 s