Barr’s hold off Nemo in thrilling finish to complete junior double

St. Finbarr’s 3-11 Nemo Rangers 2-11

Barr’s hold off Nemo in thrilling finish to complete junior double

There was a hectic finish as Nemo, who trailed by two goals as the game entered four minutes of added time, found the net when Alan O’Donovan goaled from a James Masters free.

The Barr’s had to endure a few more anxious moments as Nemo laid siege to the goal but there was to be no comeback this time as a solid Togher defence held firm. Nemo will look back on the 20 wides they hit over the hour to the Barrs’ four.

Nemo dominated the opening stages and led 1-6 to 0-2 after 12 minutes with O’Donovan kicking the ball into the net after being put through by Alan Cronin. The Barr’s replied immediately with a wonderful goal from Philip Kelleher when he rounded the Nemo defence. The Togher side then hit a purple patch, scoring 2-3 without reply in the next eight minutes with goals from Shane Nott and Ciaran Greene.

Three points two from frees by Masters and one by William Morgan saw Nemo trail 3-5 to 1-9 at half time.

The third quarter was all the Barr’s as they hit five points without reply, but Nemo’s shooting left them down, hitting four wides in the final 10 minutes before their late rally.

The Barr’s now face Cloughduv in the County Championship as they go in search of a Junior double.

Scorers St. Finbarr’s: P Kelleher 1-2, C Greene 1-1, P Harte 0-4 (0-3f, 0-1 65), S Nott 1-0, A Murphy, M Ryan 0-2 each.

Nemo Rangers scorers: A O’Donovan 2-2, J Masters 0-2 (0-2f), S Horgan 0-2 (0-2f), W Morgan 0-2, D Niblock, C Horgan, B Twomey 0-1 each.

ST. FINBARR’S: P Kenneally; C Power, C O’Sullivan, N Hallihan; E Kennefick, P O’Brien, R Kelly; P Kennedy, P Harte; C Greene, M Ryan, A Murray; R Browner, S Nott, P Kelleher.

Subs: S Calnan for Nott (50), E Comyns for Greene (52), C O’Mahony for Kelleher (57).

NEMO RANGERS: E Greene; C McGrath, C O’Donovan, P Brophy; E O’Sullivan, P Morgan, J Masters; S Horgan, B Twomey; J Horgan, A O’Donovan, D Niblock; A Cronin, W Morgan, C Horgan.

Subs: S Martin for J Horgan (ht), S Lyons for McGrath (50), T Browne for Martin (57).

Referee: T O’Donovan (Douglas).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.